# AirPods Max

The text version of the iDevice Guide at https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap. Same data as the page, last updated 2026-10-11.

> Apple's over-ear headphones, now on the H2 chip. Noise cancelling Apple rates up to 1.5x more effective than the first AirPods Max, Live Translation and lossless audio over USB-C. $549.

- Status: On sale
- List price: $549 (The maker's own starting price.)
- Released Apr 1, 2026 (source: [Apple Newsroom](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-airpods-max-2-powered-by-h2/))
- Guide: https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap
- Last updated: 2026-10-11

## Can it do this?

- **How long does the battery last?** Up to 20 hours with noise cancelling on. A 5-minute charge gives about 1.5 hours. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#can-how-long-does-the-battery-last))
- **What does it cost?** It costs $549. That is the list price. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#can-what-does-it-cost))
- **How heavy is it?** It weighs 386.2g. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#can-how-heavy-is-it))
- **Does it have noise cancelling?** Yes, it cancels noise. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#can-does-it-have-noise-cancelling))
- **How does it connect?** It connects over Bluetooth 5.3. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#can-how-does-it-connect))
- **What chip is inside?** It runs on Apple H2. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#can-what-chip-is-inside))
- **Does it do spatial audio?** Yes, it does spatial audio. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#can-does-it-do-spatial-audio))

## Works with

Works with iPhone. It also works with Android, with some limits.

- **Which iPhones do AirPods Max 2 work with?** Works. They work with every iPhone that runs iOS 26.4 or later, from the iPhone 11 on. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). Checked 2026-10-10. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#q-which-iphones))
- **Do AirPods Max 2 work with Android?** With a limit. Partly. AirPods Max 2 work as Bluetooth headphones with Android phones, but Apple says functionality may be limited on non-Apple devices: the Apple-only features need an Apple device. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). Checked 2026-10-10. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#q-android))
- **How do AirPods Max 2 handle charging standards?** Works. They charge over USB-C, with the same cable that charges an iPhone, iPad or Mac. A USB-C charge cable is in the box. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). Checked 2026-10-10.
- **Do AirPods Max 2 support Hi-res / lossless audio and codecs?** With a limit. Lossless audio works over the included USB-C cable, at 24-bit, 48 kHz. It needs a wired USB-C connection and supported content, so not over Bluetooth. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). Checked 2026-10-10.
- **Do AirPods Max 2 work with iPad?** Works. Yes. AirPods Max 2 work with iPad models running the latest iPadOS. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). Checked 2026-10-10. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#q-ipad))
- **Do AirPods Max 2 work with iPhone?** Works. Yes. AirPods Max 2 are made for iPhone. Adaptive Audio and Conversation Awareness need iOS 26.4 or later, and Live Translation needs an iPhone that supports Apple Intelligence. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). Checked 2026-10-10. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#q-iphone))
- **Do AirPods Max 2 work with Mac?** Works. Yes. AirPods Max 2 work with Mac models running the latest macOS, and switch automatically between your Mac and iPhone. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). Checked 2026-10-10. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#q-mac))
- **Do AirPods Max 2 support Spatial audio / head tracking?** Works. Yes. Personalized Spatial Audio with dynamic head tracking on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple TV. Making a personal profile needs an iPhone with a TrueDepth camera. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). Checked 2026-10-10.
- **Do AirPods Max 2 support Voice assistant / AI?** Works. Yes. Say "Siri" or "Hey Siri" hands-free, and answer Siri announcements by nodding or shaking your head. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). Checked 2026-10-10.

## Questions

### How much do AirPods Max 2 cost?

$549 at Apple's US store, in midnight, starlight, orange, purple and blue. That is the same price the first AirPods Max launched at in 2020. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-airpods/airpods-max-2). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#faq-how-much-do-airpods-max-2-cost))

### What is new in AirPods Max 2?

The H2 chip. Apple rates the noise cancelling up to 1.5x more effective than the previous generation, adds a new high dynamic range amplifier, and brings Adaptive Audio, Conversation Awareness, Voice Isolation and Live Translation to AirPods Max for the first time. Camera remote and studio-quality audio recording are new too. Source: [Apple Newsroom](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-airpods-max-2-powered-by-h2/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#faq-what-is-new-in-airpods-max-2))

### How long does the AirPods Max 2 battery last?

Apple rates AirPods Max 2 at up to 20 hours of listening on a single charge with noise cancelling on. A 5-minute charge gives around 1.5 hours of listening. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#faq-how-long-does-the-airpods-max-2-battery-last))

### What do I need for Live Translation on AirPods Max 2?

An iPhone that supports Apple Intelligence, running iOS 26 or later, with the latest AirPods firmware. Apple notes that Live Translation may not be available in every region or language. Source: [Apple Newsroom](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-airpods-max-2-powered-by-h2/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#faqs-what-do-i-need-for-live-translation-on-airpods-max-2))

### Can AirPods Max 2 play lossless audio?

Yes, over a cable. With the included USB-C cable, AirPods Max 2 play 24-bit, 48 kHz lossless audio and ultra-low latency audio. Over Bluetooth they do not. Source: [Apple Newsroom](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-airpods-max-2-powered-by-h2/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#faqs-can-airpods-max-2-play-lossless-audio))

### How heavy are AirPods Max 2?

386.2 grams (13.6 ounces) including the cushions. The Smart Case adds 134.5 grams (4.74 ounces). Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#faqs-how-heavy-are-airpods-max-2))

### What comes in the AirPods Max 2 box?

The headphones, the Smart Case, a USB-C charge cable and documentation. Storing them in the Smart Case puts them into an ultra-low-power state that preserves the charge. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#faqs-what-comes-in-the-airpods-max-2-box))

### How do AirPods Max 2 compare with the first AirPods Max?

Both launched at $549. The first AirPods Max arrived in December 2020 with the H1 chip. AirPods Max 2 use H2, with noise cancelling Apple rates up to 1.5x more effective, and add Adaptive Audio, Conversation Awareness, Voice Isolation and Live Translation. Apple rates both at up to 20 hours with noise cancelling on. Source: [Apple Newsroom](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2020/12/apple-introduces-airpods-max-the-magic-of-airpods-in-a-stunning-over-ear-design/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap#faqs-how-do-airpods-max-2-compare-with-the-first-airpods-max))

---

Source: iDevice (https://idevice.com). Every spec, rumor and grade above links to where it came from. Full Guide: https://idevice.com/headphones/apple-airpods-max/roadmap. This file: https://idevice.com/guide-text/apple-airpods-max.md.

## Questions and answers

### Using it

**What does it cost?** Apple AirPods Max 2, the current model: it costs $549. That is the list price. Source: AirPods

**How heavy is it?** Apple AirPods Max 2, the current model: it weighs 386.2g. Source: AirPods

**Does it have noise cancelling?** Apple AirPods Max 2, the current model: yes, it cancels noise. Source: AirPods

**How does it connect?** Apple AirPods Max 2, the current model: it connects over Bluetooth 5.3. Source: AirPods

**What chip is inside?** Apple AirPods Max 2, the current model: it runs on Apple H2. Source: AirPods

**Does it do spatial audio?** Apple AirPods Max 2, the current model: yes, it does spatial audio. Source: AirPods

### Price and models

**Is there a newer one?** No. The AirPods Max is the current model. Source: iDevice

**How much does the AirPods Max cost?** List price: $549. Current price we last read at Apple: $549, October 11, 2026. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/03/apple-introduces-airpods-max-2-powered-by-h2/)

### Returns and warranty

**How long do I have to return it?** 14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**Is there a restocking fee?** Restocking fee: not stated by Apple Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Who pays return shipping?** Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Can I return it if I opened or wore it?** Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How do I get my money back?** How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How long is the warranty?** 1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/ios-warranty-document-us.html)

**Is the battery covered?** Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/applecare/)

### Works with

**Do AirPods Max 2 work with Mac?** Yes. AirPods Max 2 work with Mac models running the latest macOS, and switch automatically between your Mac and iPhone. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/)

**Do AirPods Max 2 support Spatial audio / head tracking?** Yes. Personalized Spatial Audio with dynamic head tracking on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple TV. Making a personal profile needs an iPhone with a TrueDepth camera. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/)

**Do AirPods Max 2 support Voice assistant / AI?** Yes. Say "Siri" or "Hey Siri" hands-free, and answer Siri announcements by nodding or shaking your head. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-max/specs/)

