# Apple Vision Pro M5

The text version of the iDevice Guide at https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5. Same data as the page, last updated 2026-09-29.

> The M5 refresh keeps the micro-OLED displays that made Vision Pro striking and adds the processing power visionOS 26 was built for. Available now.

- Status: On sale
- List price: $3,499 (The maker's own starting price.)
- Released Oct 22, 2025 (source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2025/10/apple-vision-pro-upgraded-with-the-m5-chip-and-dual-knit-band/))
- Guide: https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5
- Last updated: 2026-09-29

## Can it do this?

- **How long does the battery last?** It runs about 2.5 hours, or 3 hours playing video, off a battery pack on a cable. Plug that pack into the wall and it keeps going, so the real limit is one sitting rather than one day. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-how-long-does-the-battery-last))
- **What does it cost?** It costs $3,699, far more than the Samsung Galaxy XR at $1,799.99 or the Meta Quest 3 at $599.99. The price buys two tiny high-resolution screens, each at roughly 4K per eye, plus Apple's hardware and software ecosystem. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-what-does-it-cost))
- **Does it work with my phone?** It works with an iPhone only. There is no Android app, and most of what makes it useful assumes your photos, messages and Mac are already Apple's. If you carry an Android phone, the Samsung Galaxy XR is built the other way round, at $1,799. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-does-it-work-with-my-phone))
- **How much storage does it have?** It comes in three sizes: 256GB, 512GB and 1TB. Storage is the only thing that changes between them. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-how-much-storage-does-it-have))
- **How does it connect?** It connects over Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.3. The Samsung Galaxy XR is a generation ahead on both, with Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-how-does-it-connect))
- **What chip is inside?** It runs Apple's M5, the same class of chip as a Mac, with a second chip called R1 handling the cameras and sensors so the view of the room keeps up with your head. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-what-chip-is-inside))
- **Which AI assistant does it use?** It uses Apple Intelligence, and you cannot swap it. Siri is how you talk to it. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-which-ai-assistant-does-it-use))
- **What software does it run?** It runs visionOS, Apple's own platform for this headset, which we read as version 26 rather than a figure Apple has published. Apps come from its own store, and many iPad apps run on it too. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-what-software-does-it-run))
- **Does it need a battery pack?** Yes. The battery sits on a cable rather than in the headset, which keeps the weight off your face and puts a tether in your pocket. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-does-it-need-a-battery-pack))
- **What kind of screen is it?** It uses two tiny OLED panels at roughly 4K per eye, one for each eye. Magnifying those dense displays is what makes text and fine detail look sharp up close. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-what-kind-of-screen-is-it))
- **Can I see the room around me?** Yes, in full colour. Cameras pass the room through to the screens, so you can keep working in the room and talking to the people in it rather than shutting them out. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-can-i-see-the-room-around-me))
- **Can I control it with my hands and eyes?** Yes, both. You look at a thing and pinch your fingers to choose it, with no controller involved. The Meta Quest 3 follows your hands but not your eyes, and that is the clearest difference in how the two feel to wear. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#can-can-i-control-it-with-my-hands-and-eyes))

## Works with

You don't need an iPhone to set it up. Wi-Fi and manual setup are enough.

- **Can you get prescription lenses for the Apple Vision Pro?** Works. Use ZEISS Optical Inserts for readers or supported prescriptions. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2025/10/apple-vision-pro-upgraded-with-the-m5-chip-and-dual-knit-band/). Checked 2026-09-21.
- **Does the Apple Vision Pro work with Steam?** With a limit. ALVR can stream SteamVR from a compatible gaming PC. Source: [ALVR project](https://github.com/alvr-org/ALVR). Checked 2026-09-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#q-steamvr))
- **Can you connect the Apple Vision Pro to a Mac?** Works. Mac Virtual Display works on macOS 14.0 or later. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/tan357ede966/27/visionos/27). Checked 2026-09-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#q-mac))
- **Can you connect the Apple Vision Pro to a PS5?** With a limit. Third-party visionOS apps such as Portal can provide remote play. Source: [Apple App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/vision/story/id1886516244). Checked 2026-09-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#q-playstation-remote-play))
- **Can you connect the Apple Vision Pro to a PC?** With a limit. Third-party apps can stream PC content to Vision Pro. Source: [ALVR project](https://github.com/alvr-org/ALVR). Checked 2026-09-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#q-windows-pc))
- **Does the Apple Vision Pro work with iPhone?** Works. Quick Start needs iOS 17+, and the companion app needs iOS 18.4+. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/use-the-apple-vision-pro-app-tanca5bde34a/27/visionos/27). Checked 2026-09-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#q-iphone))
- **Which iPhones does the Apple Vision Pro work with?** Works. It works with every iPhone that runs iOS 17 or later, from the iPhone XR on. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/use-the-apple-vision-pro-app-tanca5bde34a/27/visionos/27). Checked 2026-09-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#q-which-iphones))
- **Can you connect the Apple Vision Pro to an Xbox?** With a limit. Third-party visionOS apps such as Portal can provide remote play. Source: [Apple App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/vision/story/id1886516244). Checked 2026-09-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#q-xbox-remote-play))
- **Can you connect the Apple Vision Pro to a Nintendo Switch?** Needs extra hardware. A compatible HDMI capture card and Developer Strap are required. Source: [Apple Developer](https://developer.apple.com/documentation/visionos/displaying-video-from-connected-devices). Checked 2026-09-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#q-nintendo-switch-hdmi-capture))
- **Can you connect the Apple Vision Pro to a TV?** Works. It can mirror its view to a TV and receive AirPlay. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/tanf4ca9ada2/27/visionos/27). Checked 2026-09-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#q-view-mirroring-airplay))

## Questions

### Does the Apple Vision Pro M5 come with a charger?

Yes. The box includes the 40W Dynamic Power Adapter with 60W Max and the USB-C Charge Cable. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/apple-vision-pro/specs/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5#faq-does-the-apple-vision-pro-m5-come-with-a-charger))

## Top reports

- **The 2025 refresh was expected to use the M4 chip** (Partly right.) The refresh was right and the chip was wrong. The shipped model used the M5. First reported by [Bloomberg](https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2025-07-09/apple-readies-first-upgrade-to-its-struggling-vision-pro-headset) on Jul 9, 2025.
- **The headset uses the M5 chip** (Right.) That is a big jump from the M2 in the original. First reported by [MacRumors](https://www.macrumors.com/2025/08/13/apple-code-confirms-vision-pro-with-m5-chip/) on Aug 13, 2025.
- **The headset appeared in FCC filings before Apple announced it** (Not comparable.) The testing documents call it A3416. The shipping original is A2117. First reported by [MacRumors](https://www.macrumors.com/2025/09/30/fcc-apple-vision-pro/) on Sep 30, 2025.
- **A Space Black finish was considered but never shipped** (Not comparable.) Gurman mentioned it alongside new HomePod mini colours. First reported by [Bloomberg](https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2025-09-05/what-apple-is-planning-to-introduce-at-sept-9-awe-dropping-iphone-17-event) on Sep 5, 2025.
- **A new Dual Knit Band showed up in Apple's own code before it existed** (Right.) Apple's own code referenced the Dual Knit Band before the band existed. First reported by [MacRumors](https://www.macrumors.com/2025/10/03/vision-pro-dual-knit-band/) on Oct 3, 2025.
- **The update was reported as weeks away, with a faster chip and a new strap** (Not comparable.) Gurman reports a faster chip and redesigned strap are weeks away. First reported by [Bloomberg](https://www.bloomberg.com/news/newsletters/2025-10-05/who-will-be-apple-s-next-ceo-after-tim-cook-apple-shelves-vision-air-m5-ipad) on Oct 5, 2025.
- **An updated Developer Strap arrived on October 22** (Right.) The Developer Strap updated on October 22. First reported by [MacRumors](https://www.macrumors.com/2025/10/18/apple-may-update-vision-pro-developer-strap/) on Oct 18, 2025.

---

Source: iDevice (https://idevice.com). Every spec, rumor and grade above links to where it came from. Full Guide: https://idevice.com/head/apple-vision-pro/roadmap/m5. This file: https://idevice.com/guide-text/apple-vision-pro-m5.md.

## Questions and answers

### Using it

**What does it cost?** It costs $3699 to $4199. That is the list price, before any subscription. Source: Apple

**Can I control it with my hands and eyes?** Yes, with your hands and your eyes both. Look at a thing, pinch to select it. No controller needed. Source: Apple

**Does it work with my phone?** It works with an iPhone only. There is no Android app. Source: Apple

**How much storage does it have?** It comes with 256GB to 1TB of storage. There are 3 sizes: 256GB, 512GB and 1TB. Source: Apple

**How does it connect?** It connects over Bluetooth 5.3 and Wi-Fi 6. Source: Apple

**What chip is inside?** It runs on M5. There is a R1 alongside it. Source: Apple

**Which AI assistant does it use?** It uses Apple Intelligence. Source: Apple

**What software does it run?** It runs visionOS 26. Source: Apple

**What kind of screen is it?** It uses micro-oled; 23 million pixels total. Source: Apple

**Can I see the room around me?** Yes, you see the room in colour. Cameras show you the room, so you can stay in it while wearing this. Source: Apple

### Sizing and fit

**What sizes does it come in?** Storage: 256GB / 512GB / 1TB. Source: Apple

### Battery and charging

**How long does the battery last?** It runs 2.5 hours. That is 2.5 hours at most, and 3 hours playing video. Source: Apple

**Does it need a battery pack?** Yes, it runs off a tethered pack. The battery sits on a cable rather than in the headset. Source: Apple

### Price and models

**When did the Apple Vision Pro M5 come out?** It went on sale October 22, 2025. Announced October 15, 2025. Source: iDevice

**Is there a newer one?** No. The Apple Vision Pro M5 is the current model. Source: iDevice

**How much does the Apple Vision Pro M5 cost?** List price: $3,699. Other models: up to $4,199. Current price we last read at Apple: $3699, October 10, 2026. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-vision)

### Returns and warranty

**How long do I have to return it?** 14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**Is there a restocking fee?** Restocking fee: not stated by Apple Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Who pays return shipping?** Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Can I return it if I opened or wore it?** Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How do I get my money back?** How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How long is the warranty?** 1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/ios-warranty-document-us.html)

**Is there a paid protection plan?** Add AppleCare+ or AppleCare One AppleCare+ and AppleCare One do not cover accidental damage to prescription or other corrective lenses used with Vision Pro. Battery coverage applies only to the original battery in the box. Fees: $299 other accidental damage, $29 included accessory damage. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/applecare/)

**Is water damage covered?** Water damage not covered For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108039)

**Is the battery covered?** Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/applecare/)

### In the box

**What's in the box?** Light Seal, Light Seal Cushion, Dual Knit Band, 40W Dynamic Power Adapter with 60W Max, USB-C Charge Cable. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/apple-vision-pro/specs/)

### Works with

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with iPhone?** Quick Start needs iOS 17+, and the companion app needs iOS 18.4+. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/use-the-apple-vision-pro-app-tanca5bde34a/27/visionos/27)

**Can you connect the Apple Vision Pro to an Xbox?** Third-party visionOS apps such as Portal can provide remote play. With a limit Source: [Apple App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/vision/story/id1886516244)

**Can you connect the Apple Vision Pro to a Nintendo Switch?** A compatible HDMI capture card and Developer Strap are required. Needs extra hardware Source: [Apple Developer](https://developer.apple.com/documentation/visionos/displaying-video-from-connected-devices)

**Can you connect the Apple Vision Pro to a TV?** It can mirror its view to a TV and receive AirPlay. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/tanf4ca9ada2/27/visionos/27)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with iPhone and iPad apps?** It runs visionOS apps and many compatible iPhone and iPad apps. With a limit Source: [Apple Developer](https://developer.apple.com/visionos/submit/)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with AirPods?** All current AirPods connect, with extra audio features on some newer models. With a limit Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/118516)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with Bluetooth keyboards, mice and trackpads?** Most Bluetooth keyboards and mice connect, and Apple Magic Trackpad works. With a limit Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/118516)

**How does the Apple Vision Pro charge?** Use a USB-C Charge Cable and an Apple 30W-or-higher USB-C adapter. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2025/10/apple-vision-pro-upgraded-with-the-m5-chip-and-dual-knit-band/)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with Netflix?** Netflix works in Safari, not through a native Vision Pro app. With a limit Source: [Netflix](https://help.netflix.com/en/node/134000)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with YouTube?** A native YouTube app works on visionOS 26.0 or later. Works Source: [Google / Apple App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/youtube-for-visionos/id6745572359)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with Disney+?** A native Disney+ app works on Vision Pro. Works Source: [Disney / Apple App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/disney/id1446075923?platform=vision)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with Amazon Prime Video?** Prime Video runs as a compatible iPhone and iPad app. With a limit Source: [Amazon / Apple App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/amazon-prime-video/id545519333?platform=vision)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with Steam games?** Steam Link can stream games from a Mac or PC. With a limit Source: [Apple App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/vision/story/id1886516244)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with a PS5 DualSense controller?** DualSense is officially supported. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/111099)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with an Xbox controller?** Compatible Xbox Bluetooth controllers are supported. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/111099)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with PlayStation VR2 Sense controllers?** PS VR2 Sense controllers work on visionOS 26 or later. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/118516)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with a Nintendo Switch Pro Controller?** Yes, but only in apps that support the Switch Pro Controller. With a limit Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/111099)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with a PlayStation over HDMI?** A compatible HDMI capture card and Developer Strap are required. Needs extra hardware Source: [Apple Developer](https://developer.apple.com/documentation/visionos/displaying-video-from-connected-devices)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with an Xbox over HDMI?** A compatible HDMI capture card and Developer Strap are required. Needs extra hardware Source: [Apple Developer](https://developer.apple.com/documentation/visionos/displaying-video-from-connected-devices)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with eyeglasses worn inside the headset?** Eyeglasses can't be worn inside Vision Pro. Doesn't work Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/120052)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro support buying it in my country or region?** It's sold in 13 countries and regions, including the US, UK and Canada. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/kr/newsroom/2025/11/apple-vision-pro-with-m5-chip-and-dual-knit-band-arrives-in-south-korea/)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro support multiple system languages?** It supports Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean and Spanish. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/120408)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro support a Guest User?** One guest can use it, but it isn't a full multi-profile system. With a limit Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/dev57f3c667e/27/visionos/27)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro support kids and parental controls?** It's for ages 13 and older, with parental controls available. With a limit Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/sign-apple-account-vision-pro-tanf9fa7d96e/27/visionos/27)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with an Apple Account?** An Apple Account is used for Apple services on Vision Pro. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/tan357ede966/27/visionos/27)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with a Google account?** A Google account works inside supported apps such as YouTube. With a limit Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/sign-apple-account-vision-pro-tanf9fa7d96e/27/visionos/27)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with an Apple TV subscription?** Apple TV subscription content plays through the Apple TV app. Works Source: [Apple App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/apple-tv/id1174078549?platform=vision)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with HealthKit and Apple Health features?** Native visionOS apps can use HealthKit. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2024/06/visionos-2-brings-new-spatial-computing-experiences-to-apple-vision-pro/)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro support accessibility features?** It supports vision, motor, hearing, and learning accessibility features. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/apple-vision-pro/get-started-with-accessibility-features-tan426c48bdc/27/visionos/27)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with other Bluetooth headphones?** Bluetooth headphones can connect, but features vary. With a limit Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/118516)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with ZEISS Optical Inserts from the M2 model?** Apple lists current ZEISS Optical Inserts for both M5 and M2. Works Source: [Apple Store](https://www.apple.com/shop/vision/accessories/apple-vision-pro-essentials)

**Does the Apple Vision Pro work with the same controllers as the M2 model?** Supported Bluetooth game controllers work across the Vision Pro family. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-ca/111100)

