# Apple Watch SE 3

The text version of the iDevice Guide at https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3. Same data as the page, last updated 2026-10-23.

> From $249, against $399 for the Series 12. Apple recommends the SE 3 with GPS + Cellular for kids, and 15 minutes of charging gives up to 8 hours of normal use.

- Status: On sale
- List price: $249 (The official starting price.)
- Released Sep 19, 2025 (source: [Apple Newsroom](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2025/09/apple-introduces-apple-watch-se-3/))
- Guide: https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3
- Last updated: 2026-10-23

## Can it do this?

- **How long does the battery last?** Up to 18 hours of normal use, or up to 32 hours in Low Power Mode. 15 minutes of charging gives up to 8 hours. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-how-long-does-the-battery-last))
- **Does it measure blood pressure?** No, it does not measure blood pressure. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-does-it-measure-blood-pressure))
- **What does it cost?** It costs $249. That is the list price. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-what-does-it-cost))
- **Does it have GPS?** Yes, it has its own GPS. It works without your phone. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-does-it-have-gps))
- **Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** Yes, you can shower and swim in it. It is rated to 50m, and for snorkelling. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-can-it-get-wet-shower-pool-swimming))
- **Does it do 5G?** Yes, it does 5G. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-does-it-do-5g))
- **How heavy is it?** It weighs 26.3g to 33g. The weight varies by size or finish. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-how-heavy-is-it))
- **What sizes does it come in?** It comes in 40mm or 44mm. There are 2 case sizes, and the bigger one usually lasts longer between charges. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-what-sizes-does-it-come-in))
- **How sharp and bright is the screen?** The screen reaches 1000 nits at its brightest. It packs 326 pixels into every inch. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-how-sharp-and-bright-is-the-screen))
- **Does it take an ECG?** No, it does not take an ECG. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-does-it-take-an-ecg))
- **Does it measure blood oxygen?** No, it does not measure blood oxygen. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-does-it-measure-blood-oxygen))
- **Does it track heart rate?** Yes, it tracks your heart rate. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-does-it-track-heart-rate))
- **Does it read skin temperature?** Yes, it reads your skin temperature. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#can-does-it-read-skin-temperature))

## Works with

A smartwatch that works with iPhone. It does not work with Android.

- **Which iPhones does the Apple Watch SE 3 work with?** Works. It works with iPhone 11 and later. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se). Checked 2026-10-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#q-which-iphones))
- **Does the Apple Watch SE 3 work with Android?** Doesn't work. No. Apple Watch works only with iPhone, so an Android phone cannot set up or pair an Apple Watch SE 3. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se). Checked 2026-10-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#q-android))
- **Does the Apple Watch SE 3 work with Bluetooth headphones?** Works. Yes. Apple Watch SE 3 plays audio to Bluetooth headphones or speakers, and can also play music and podcasts through its own speaker. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/guide/watch/connect-to-bluetooth-headphones-or-speakers-apd67b3ac484/watchos). Checked 2026-10-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#q-bluetooth-headphones))
- **How does the Apple Watch SE 3 handle charging?** Works. It charges with the Apple Watch Magnetic Fast Charger to USB-C Cable in the box, and fast-charges to about 80% in 45 minutes. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/apple-watch-se-3/specs/). Checked 2026-10-21.
- **Does the Apple Watch SE 3 support Family setup / kids mode?** Some features missing. Yes, on a GPS + Cellular model. Apple Watch For Your Kids sets up an SE 3 from a parent's iPhone for a child with no iPhone, but some features are not available that way. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se). Checked 2026-10-21.
- **Does the Apple Watch SE 3 work with iPhone?** Works. Yes. Apple Watch SE 3 pairs with an iPhone 11 or later, including iPhone SE (2nd generation or later), through the Apple Watch app. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se). Checked 2026-10-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#q-iphone))
- **Does the Apple Watch SE 3 work with Mac?** Some features missing. Partly. Apple Watch can unlock your Mac and approve its password requests, but it pairs with your iPhone, not the Mac. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se). Checked 2026-10-21. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#q-mac))
- **Does the Apple Watch SE 3 support Satellite / emergency SOS?** Some features missing. Emergency SOS, Fall Detection and Crash Detection, yes. Emergency SOS via satellite, no. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se). Checked 2026-10-21.

## Questions

### How much does the Apple Watch SE 3 cost?

It starts at $249 at Apple's US store for the GPS model. Apple lists the Series 12 from $399 and the Ultra 4 from $799. Source: [Apple Newsroom](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2025/09/apple-introduces-apple-watch-se-3/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#faq-how-much-does-the-apple-watch-se-3-cost))

### What sizes and colors does the Apple Watch SE 3 come in?

Two sizes, 40mm and 44mm, both with an aluminum case in Midnight or Starlight. The 40mm fits wrists 130 to 200mm around and the 44mm fits wrists 140 to 245mm around. Source: [Apple Newsroom](https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2025/09/apple-introduces-apple-watch-se-3/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#faq-what-sizes-and-colors-does-the-apple-watch-se-3-come-in))

### How long does the Apple Watch SE 3 battery last?

Apple rates it at up to 18 hours of normal use and up to 32 hours in Low Power Mode, so plan to charge it every day. Fast charging helps: 15 minutes gives up to 8 hours of normal use, and it reaches 80% in about 45 minutes. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/apple-watch-se-3/specs/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#faq-how-long-does-the-apple-watch-se-3-battery-last))

### Does the Apple Watch SE 3 have an ECG or blood oxygen?

No. It has no ECG app, no Blood Oxygen app and no hypertension notifications. It does have high and low heart rate notifications, irregular rhythm notifications and sleep apnea notifications. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#faqs-does-the-apple-watch-se-3-have-an-ecg-or-blood-oxygen))

### What does the Series 12 have that the SE 3 does not?

The Series 12 starts at $399 and adds the ECG app, the Blood Oxygen app, hypertension notifications and the S11 chip. Its screen reaches up to 2000 nits against up to 1000 on the SE 3, and Apple rates its battery at up to 24 hours against up to 18. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#faqs-what-does-the-series-12-have-that-the-se-3-does-not))

### What sleep tracking does the Apple Watch SE 3 have?

Sleep stages, a nightly sleep score and sleep apnea notifications, plus wrist temperature in the Vitals app. Sleep apnea notifications are for people 18 and older without a sleep apnea diagnosis. 8 minutes of charging gives up to 8 hours of sleep tracking. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/apple-watch-se-3/specs/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#faqs-what-sleep-tracking-does-the-apple-watch-se-3-have))

### Does the Apple Watch SE 3 have Fall Detection?

Yes. If it detects a hard fall and you stay still for about a minute, it calls emergency services, then sends your emergency contacts a message with your location. Fall Detection is for people 18 or older and turns on by itself if your age is set to 55 or over. It cannot detect all falls. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108896). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#faqs-does-the-apple-watch-se-3-have-fall-detection))

### Can the Apple Watch SE 3 call for help without my iPhone?

On a GPS + Cellular model with a cellular plan, yes: press and hold the side button to call emergency services from the watch. The GPS model needs Wi-Fi calling or your iPhone nearby. It also has Crash Detection, but no Emergency SOS via satellite. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108374). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3#faqs-can-the-apple-watch-se-3-call-for-help-without-my-iphone))

---

Source: iDevice (https://idevice.com). Every spec, rumor and grade above links to where it came from. Full Guide: https://idevice.com/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap/se-3. This file: https://idevice.com/guide-text/apple-watch-se-3.md.

## Questions and answers

### Using it

**What does it cost?** It costs $249. That is the list price. Source: Apple

**Does it measure blood pressure?** No, it does not measure blood pressure. Source: Apple

**Does it have GPS?** Yes, it has its own GPS. It works without your phone. Source: Apple

**Does it do 5G?** Yes, it does 5G. Source: Apple

**How heavy is it?** It weighs 26.3g to 33g. The weight varies by size or finish. Source: Apple

**How sharp and bright is the screen?** The screen reaches 1000 nits at its brightest. It packs 326 pixels into every inch. Source: Apple

**Does it take an ECG?** No, it does not take an ECG. Source: Apple

**Does it measure blood oxygen?** No, it does not measure blood oxygen. Source: Apple

**Does it track heart rate?** Yes, it tracks your heart rate. Source: Apple

**Does it read skin temperature?** Yes, it reads your skin temperature. Source: Apple

### Sizing and fit

**What sizes does it come in?** Case sizes: Apple Watch SE 3 is available in 40mm and 44mm sizes in midnight and starlight aluminum cases. Aluminum case in Midnight or Starlight; 40mm (fits 130 to 200mm wrists) or 44mm (fits 140 to 245mm wrists) Source: Apple

### Water

**Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** Yes, you can shower and swim in it. It is rated to 50m, and for snorkelling. Source: Apple

### Price and models

**Is there a newer one?** Yes: the Apple Watch Series 12, out September 18, 2026. Source: [iDevice](/smart-watches/apple-watch/roadmap)

### Returns and warranty

**How long do I have to return it?** 14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**Is there a restocking fee?** Restocking fee: not stated by Apple Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Who pays return shipping?** Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Can I return it if I opened or wore it?** Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How do I get my money back?** How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How long is the warranty?** 1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/ios-warranty-document-us.html)

**Is water damage covered?** Water damage not covered For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108039)

**Is the battery covered?** Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/applecare/)

### In the box

**What's in the box?** Apple Watch SE 3, Band, Apple Watch Magnetic Fast Charger to USB-C Cable (1m). Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/apple-watch-se-3/specs/)

### Works with

**Does the Apple Watch SE 3 work with Mac?** Partly. Apple Watch can unlock your Mac and approve its password requests, but it pairs with your iPhone, not the Mac. Some features missing Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se)

**Does the Apple Watch SE 3 support Satellite / emergency SOS?** Emergency SOS, Fall Detection and Crash Detection, yes. Emergency SOS via satellite, no. Some features missing Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-watch/apple-watch-se)

