# Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max

The text version of the iDevice Guide at https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max. Same data as the page, last updated 2026-10-24.

> iPhone 17 Pro Max, superseded by the iPhone 18 Pro Max. 6.9-inch 120Hz display, 48MP main, ultra-wide and 4x telephoto, 39 hours of video, 233g. Launched at $1,199.

- Status: Previous generation (still sold or superseded)
- Price: $1199
- Released Sep 19, 2025
- Guide: https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max
- Last updated: 2026-10-24

## Key specs

| Spec | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.9-inch OLED, 120Hz | [apple.com](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17-pro/specs/) |
| Chip | A19 Pro | [apple.com](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17-pro/specs/) |
| Storage | 256GB to 2TB | [apple.com](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17-pro/specs/) |
| Battery | Up to 39h video | [apple.com](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17-pro/specs/) |
| Weight | 233g | [apple.com](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17-pro/specs/) |
| Protection | IP68; 6m for 30 min | [apple.com](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17-pro/specs/) |

## Can it do this?

- **How long does the battery last?** Apple rates it for up to 39 hours of video playback or 35 hours of streamed video playback. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-how-long-does-the-battery-last))
- **Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** Yes, it is water resistant, but Apple says to avoid swimming or showering with it. It is rated IP68 for up to 6 metres for 30 minutes. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-can-it-get-wet-shower-pool-swimming))
- **How much storage does it have?** It comes with 256GB, 512GB, 1TB or 2TB of storage, so the range starts at 256GB. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-how-much-storage-does-it-have))
- **Does it have a 120Hz screen?** Yes. Its ProMotion display refreshes at up to 120Hz and can stay always on. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-does-it-have-a-120hz-screen))
- **How big is the screen?** It has a 6.9-inch display, with up to a 120Hz refresh rate and 3,000 nits of peak brightness. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-how-big-is-the-screen))
- **Does it do 5G?** Yes. It supports regular sub-6 5G and the shorter-range mmWave kind used for very fast service in some locations. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-does-it-do-5g))
- **Does it unlock with my face?** Yes. Face ID uses the front TrueDepth camera, so unlocking is done by looking at the phone. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-does-it-unlock-with-my-face))
- **How fast does it charge?** It can reach 50% charge in about 20 minutes with a 40W or higher USB-C power adapter. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-how-fast-does-it-charge))
- **How heavy is it?** It weighs 233 grams, with a 6.9-inch display in the same body. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-how-heavy-is-it))
- **How good is the camera?** It has three 48MP rear cameras: main, ultra-wide and 4x telephoto. It also offers an 8x optical-quality telephoto view and has an 18MP front camera. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-how-good-is-the-camera))
- **What video can it shoot?** It can record 4K Dolby Vision video at up to 120 frames per second. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-what-video-can-it-shoot))
- **How does it connect?** It supports Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread and second-generation Ultra Wideband. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-how-does-it-connect))
- **What colours does it come in?** It comes in three colours: Silver, Cosmic Orange and Deep Blue. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-what-colours-does-it-come-in))
- **How sharp and bright is the screen?** The display has 460 pixels per inch and reaches up to 3,000 nits of peak brightness. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#can-how-sharp-and-bright-is-the-screen))

## Works with

- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle Dual eSIM?** Works. Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max supports dual eSIM: two active eSIMs, and it stores eight or more. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091). Checked 2026-10-12.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle MagSafe chargers and accessories?** Works. Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max supports MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091). Checked 2026-10-12.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle Physical SIM card (US model)?** Doesn't work. No. Apple's US iPhone 17 Pro Max specification is eSIM-only. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091). Checked 2026-10-12.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle power adapter in the box?** Doesn't work. No. iPhone 17 Pro Max does not include a power adapter. The box holds a USB-C Charge Cable. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091). Checked 2026-10-12.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle Qi2 wireless chargers?** Works. Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max supports Qi2 wireless charging up to 25W. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091). Checked 2026-10-12.
- **Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with USB 3 data transfer (10Gb/s)?** Works. Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max's USB-C port supports USB 3 speeds up to 10Gb/s. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091). Checked 2026-10-12. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max#q-usb-3))
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle USB-C fast charging?** Works. Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max charges over USB-C and fast charges with a 40W or higher adapter, sold separately. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091). Checked 2026-10-12.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle USB-C monitor / DisplayPort video out?** Works. Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max supports video out over USB-C through native DisplayPort, up to 4K HDR. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091). Checked 2026-10-12.

---

Source: iDevice (https://idevice.com). Every spec, rumor and grade above links to where it came from. Full Guide: https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro-max. This file: https://idevice.com/guide-text/iphone-17-pro-max.md.

## Questions and answers

### Using it

**How big is the screen?** The screen measures 6.9 inches. Source: Apple

**How much storage does it have?** It comes with 256GB to 2TB of storage. There are 4 sizes: 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB. Source: Apple

**Does it have a 120Hz screen?** Yes, the screen runs at 120Hz. Source: Apple

**Does it do 5G?** Yes, it does 5G. Sub-6 and mmWave, the fast short-range band included. Source: Apple

**Does it unlock with my face?** Yes, it unlocks with your face. Source: Apple

**How heavy is it?** It weighs 233g. Source: Apple

**How good is the camera?** It shoots on a 48MP main camera, one of 3 rear cameras. The front camera is 18MP. Source: Apple

**What video can it shoot?** It shoots 4K at 120fps. That is its highest setting. Source: Apple

**How does it connect?** It connects over Bluetooth and Wi-Fi 7. It also has ultra-wideband, for precise finding and Thread, for smart-home accessories. Source: Apple

**What colours does it come in?** It comes in 3 finishes. Cosmic Orange, Deep Blue, Silver. Source: Apple

**How sharp and bright is the screen?** The screen reaches 3000 nits at its brightest. It packs 460 pixels into every inch. Source: Apple

**How thick is it?** It is 8.75mm thick. Source: Apple

**Does it do contactless payments?** Yes, it has NFC for contactless payments. Source: Apple

### Battery and charging

**How long does the battery last?** It runs 35 hours playing streamed video. That is 39 hours playing video. Source: Apple

**How fast does it charge?** It charges in 20 minutes, to 50%. That is wired, with a fast charger. Source: Apple

**Does it charge wirelessly?** Yes, it charges wirelessly. It takes up to 25W on a wireless pad. Source: Apple

### Water

**Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** Yes, it survives a shower and a soaking. Its rating is IP68. Immersion beyond a metre is officially stated. Swimming laps and diving need a different rating, and it does not carry one. Source: Apple

### Price and models

**When did the iPhone 17 Pro Max come out?** It went on sale September 19, 2025. Announced September 9, 2025. Source: iDevice

**Is there a newer one?** Yes: the iPhone 18 Pro Max, out September 18, 2026. Source: [iDevice](/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-18-pro-max)

**What colors does it come in?** Cosmic Orange, Deep Blue, Silver. Source: Apple

### Returns and warranty

**How long do I have to return it?** 14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**Is there a restocking fee?** Restocking fee: not stated by Apple Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Who pays return shipping?** Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Can I return it if I opened or wore it?** Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How do I get my money back?** How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How long is the warranty?** 1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/ios-warranty-document-us.html)

**Is water damage covered?** Water damage not covered For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108039)

**Is the battery covered?** Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/applecare/)

### Works with

**Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with USB 3 data transfer (10Gb/s)?** Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max's USB-C port supports USB 3 speeds up to 10Gb/s. Works Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle USB-C fast charging?** Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max charges over USB-C and fast charges with a 40W or higher adapter, sold separately. Works Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle USB-C monitor / DisplayPort video out?** Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max supports video out over USB-C through native DisplayPort, up to 4K HDR. Works Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/125091)

