# Apple iPhone 17 Pro

The text version of the iDevice Guide at https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro. Same data as the page, last updated 2026-10-05.

> iPhone 17 Pro, superseded by the iPhone 18 Pro. Aluminium unibody, A19 Pro, 48MP 4x telephoto, 4K Dolby Vision at 120fps, 33 hours of video. Launched at $1,099.

- Status: Previous generation (still sold or superseded)
- List price: $1,099 (The maker's own starting price.)
- Released Sep 19, 2025
- Guide: https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro
- Last updated: 2026-10-05

## Can it do this?

- **How long does the battery last?** Apple rates it at 33 hours of video playback, or 30 hours streaming. That is three hours more than the standard iPhone 17, and the Pro Max goes further again at 39 hours. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-how-long-does-the-battery-last))
- **Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** Yes. It is rated IP68, and Apple states 6 metres for 30 minutes, so a shower or a drop in the sink is fine. Swimming laps and diving ask for a rating it does not carry. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-can-it-get-wet-shower-pool-swimming))
- **How much storage does it have?** It comes in 256GB, 512GB or 1TB. ProRes video files are large, so our read is that anyone shooting them should start at 512GB. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-how-much-storage-does-it-have))
- **Does it have a 120Hz screen?** Yes. ProMotion runs up to 120Hz and the display stays always-on. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-does-it-have-a-120hz-screen))
- **How big is the screen?** It measures 6.3 inches. The 6.9-inch version of the same phone is the iPhone 17 Pro Max at $1,199. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-how-big-is-the-screen))
- **Does it unlock with my face?** Yes. Face ID works through the TrueDepth camera, in the dark and behind sunglasses. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-does-it-unlock-with-my-face))
- **How fast does it charge?** It reaches 50% in about 20 minutes on a 40W or higher USB-C adapter. A slower adapter takes noticeably longer. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-how-fast-does-it-charge))
- **How heavy is it?** It weighs 206g. That is 29g over the standard iPhone 17 and 41g over the iPhone Air, which is what the bigger battery and the third camera cost. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-how-heavy-is-it))
- **How good is the camera?** It shoots on three 48MP rear cameras: main, ultra-wide, and a 4x telephoto that reaches 8x by cropping. The front camera is 18MP. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-how-good-is-the-camera))
- **What video can it shoot?** It records 4K Dolby Vision at up to 120fps, and ProRes RAW at 4K 120. That is the highest setting anywhere in the iPhone line. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-what-video-can-it-shoot))
- **What colours does it come in?** It comes in three: Silver, Cosmic Orange and Deep Blue. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-what-colours-does-it-come-in))
- **How sharp and bright is the screen?** It packs 460 pixels into every inch and reaches 3,000 nits at its brightest, which is enough to read in direct sun. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-how-sharp-and-bright-is-the-screen))
- **How thick is it?** It is 8.75mm thick, the thickest of the iPhone 17 line, holding the larger battery and the telephoto lens. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-how-thick-is-it))
- **What chip is inside?** It runs the A19 Pro, with a 6-core processor, a 6-core graphics processor and a 16-core Neural Engine. The extra graphics core over the standard A19 is where the gaming difference sits. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#can-what-chip-is-inside))

## Works with

- **Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with Apple Health?** Works. Yes. Apple Health is built into the iPhone ecosystem and works with compatible apps, Apple Watch and third-party devices. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-ie/guide/iphone/iphcae7451f3/ios). Checked 2026-09-22. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro#q-apple-health))

---

Source: iDevice (https://idevice.com). Every spec, rumor and grade above links to where it came from. Full Guide: https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap/iphone-17-pro. This file: https://idevice.com/guide-text/iphone-17-pro.md.

## Questions and answers

### Using it

**How big is the screen?** The screen measures 6.3 inches. Source: Apple

**How much storage does it have?** It comes with 256GB to 1TB of storage. There are 3 sizes: 256GB, 512GB and 1TB. Source: Apple

**Does it have a 120Hz screen?** Yes, the screen runs at 120Hz. Source: Apple

**Does it unlock with my face?** Yes, it unlocks with your face. Source: Apple

**How heavy is it?** It weighs 206g. Source: Apple

**How good is the camera?** It shoots on a 48MP main camera, one of 3 rear cameras. The front camera is 18MP. Source: Apple

**What video can it shoot?** It shoots 4K at 120fps. That is its highest setting. Source: Apple

**What colours does it come in?** It comes in 3 finishes. Cosmic Orange, Deep Blue, Silver. Source: Apple

**How sharp and bright is the screen?** The screen reaches 3000 nits at its brightest. It packs 460 pixels into every inch. Source: Apple

**How thick is it?** It is 8.75mm thick. Source: Apple

**What chip is inside?** It runs on Apple A19 Pro. Source: Apple

**What software does it run?** It runs iOS 26. Source: Apple

**How many microphones?** It has 4 microphones. They handle calls, voice control and recording. Source: Apple

**What is it made of?** It is made of aluminium. Machined from one piece. Source: Apple

**Does it do spatial audio?** Yes, it does spatial audio. Source: Apple

### Sizing and fit

**What sizes does it come in?** Storage: 256GB, 512GB or 1TB. Source: Apple

### Battery and charging

**How long does the battery last?** It runs 30 hours playing streamed video. That is 33 hours playing video. Source: Apple

**How fast does it charge?** It charges in 20 minutes, to 50%. That is wired, with a fast charger. Source: Apple

**Does it charge wirelessly?** Yes, it charges wirelessly. It takes up to 25W on a wireless pad. Source: Apple

**Does it charge over USB-C?** Yes, it charges over USB-C. Source: Apple

### Water

**Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** Yes, it survives a shower and a soaking. Its rating is IP68. The maker states immersion beyond a metre. Swimming laps and diving need a different rating, and it does not carry one. Source: Apple

### Price and models

**When did the iPhone 17 Pro come out?** It went on sale September 19, 2025. Announced September 9, 2025. Source: iDevice

**Is there a newer one?** Yes: the iPhone 18 Pro, out September 18, 2026. Source: [iDevice](/phones/iphone-pro/roadmap)

**How much does the iPhone 17 Pro cost?** List price: $1,099. Current price we last read at Apple: $1099, September 9, 2026. Source: Apple

**What colors does it come in?** Cosmic Orange, Deep Blue, Silver. Source: Apple

### Returns and warranty

**How long do I have to return it?** 14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**Is there a restocking fee?** Restocking fee: not stated by Apple Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Who pays return shipping?** Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Can I return it if I opened or wore it?** Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How do I get my money back?** How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How long is the warranty?** 1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/ios-warranty-document-us.html)

**Is water damage covered?** Water damage not covered For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108039)

**Is the battery covered?** Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/applecare/)

