# Apple iPhone 17

The text version of the iDevice Guide at https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17. Same data as the page, last updated 2026-10-23.

> iPhone 17 takes ProMotion, the always-on display and 3,000 nits of outdoor brightness down to $899.

- Status: On sale
- List price: $829 (The official starting price.)
- Released Sep 19, 2025
- Guide: https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17
- Last updated: 2026-10-23

## Can it do this?

- **How long does the battery last?** Apple rates it for up to 30 hours of video playback or up to 27 hours of streamed video playback. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-how-long-does-the-battery-last))
- **Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** It is IP68 water resistant for accidental water exposure, but Apple says not to swim or shower with it. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-can-it-get-wet-shower-pool-swimming))
- **How much storage does it have?** It comes with 256GB or 512GB of storage, so you choose between two capacities rather than starting at 128GB. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-how-much-storage-does-it-have))
- **Does it have a 120Hz screen?** Yes. Its ProMotion display can refresh at up to 120Hz, which makes scrolling and motion look smoother. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-does-it-have-a-120hz-screen))
- **How big is the screen?** It has a 6.3-inch OLED display, putting it in the standard-size iPhone range rather than the largest format. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-how-big-is-the-screen))
- **Does it unlock with my face?** Yes. It uses Face ID through the TrueDepth camera, so looking at the phone can unlock it without a fingerprint sensor. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-does-it-unlock-with-my-face))
- **How fast does it charge?** Apple says it can reach about 50% in 20 minutes with a 40W or higher USB-C power adapter. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-how-fast-does-it-charge))
- **How heavy is it?** It weighs 177g, light enough to stay well under 200g. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-how-heavy-is-it))
- **How good is the camera?** It has a 48MP main camera, a 48MP ultra-wide camera and an 18MP front camera. It can also make a 2x optical-quality crop from the main camera, but it does not have a dedicated telephoto lens. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-how-good-is-the-camera))
- **What video can it shoot?** It can record up to 4K Dolby Vision video at 60 frames per second. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-what-video-can-it-shoot))
- **What colours does it come in?** It comes in Black, White, Mist Blue, Sage and Lavender. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-what-colours-does-it-come-in))
- **How sharp and bright is the screen?** The display has a density of 460 pixels per inch and can reach up to 3,000 nits outdoors. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-how-sharp-and-bright-is-the-screen))
- **How thick is it?** It is 7.95mm thick, keeping the body just under 8mm front to back. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-how-thick-is-it))
- **What chip is inside?** It uses the A19 chip with a 6-core CPU, 5-core GPU and 16-core Neural Engine. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#can-what-chip-is-inside))

## Works with

- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Samsung Galaxy Watch (Wear OS models)?** Doesn't work. No. Current Wear OS Galaxy Watch models do not support iPhone. Source: [Samsung](https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS10004668/). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Google Pixel Watch?** Doesn't work. No. Google Pixel Watch does not support iPhone. Source: [Google](https://support.google.com/googlepixelwatch/answer/12652073?hl=en). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Oura Ring?** Works. Yes. Oura Ring works with iPhone 17. Source: [Oura](https://support.ouraring.com/hc/en-us/articles/360025570013-Software-Updates-for-iOS). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle WHOOP?** Works. Yes. WHOOP works with iPhone 17. Source: [WHOOP](https://support.whoop.com/s/article/WHOOP-App-Minimum-Software-Requirements). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle AirPods Pro 3?** Works. Yes. AirPods Pro 3 work with iPhone 17. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/airpods-pro/specs/). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Samsung Galaxy Buds4 / Buds4 Pro?** Some features missing. Yes, but only as Bluetooth earbuds on iPhone. Source: [Samsung](https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS10003617/). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Google Pixel Buds?** Some features missing. Yes. Pixel Buds work with iPhone 17 as Bluetooth earbuds. Source: [Google](https://support.google.com/googlepixelbuds/answer/7544332?hl=en). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **Does the Apple iPhone 17 work with Apple CarPlay?** Works. Yes. iPhone 17 supports CarPlay in compatible vehicles and stereos. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/ios/carplay/). Checked 2026-09-22. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#q-carplay))
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle MagSafe chargers and accessories?** Works. Yes. iPhone 17 supports MagSafe. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Qi2 wireless chargers?** Works. Yes. iPhone 17 supports Qi2 wireless charging. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/). Checked 2026-09-22.

## Questions

### Does the iPhone 17 come with a charger?

It comes with the USB-C Charge Cable. Apple's in-the-box list does not include a power adapter. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17#faq-does-the-iphone-17-come-with-a-charger))

## Top reports

- **The standard model gets a 120Hz ProMotion display** (Right.) 120Hz ProMotion comes to the standard model. First reported by [MacRumors](https://www.macrumors.com/2024/09/20/iphone-17-and-17-air-120hz-promotion-rumor/) on Sep 20, 2024.
- **The front camera was reported as 24MP** (Wrong.) The 24MP front-camera prediction turned out wrong. First reported by [MacRumors](https://www.macrumors.com/2024/08/02/iphone-17-24mp-front-camera-rumor/) on Aug 2, 2024.
- **Four of the six predicted colours landed** (Partly right.) Four of the six predicted colors landed. First reported by [Macworld](https://www.macworld.com/article/2849423/iphone-17-colors-confirmed-see-all-of-apples-2026-options-right-here.html) on Jul 16, 2025.
- **The base model has a 6.3-inch display** (Right.) The base model gets a 6.3-inch display. First reported by [MacRumors](https://www.macrumors.com/2025/06/27/iphone-17-base-model-larger-display-rumor/) on Jun 27, 2025.

---

Source: iDevice (https://idevice.com). Every spec, rumor and grade above links to where it came from. Full Guide: https://idevice.com/phones/iphone/roadmap/iphone-17. This file: https://idevice.com/guide-text/iphone-17.md.

## Questions and answers

### Using it

**How big is the screen?** The screen measures 6.3 inches. Source: Apple

**How much storage does it have?** It comes with 256GB to 512GB of storage. There are 2 sizes: 256GB and 512GB. Source: Apple

**Does it have a 120Hz screen?** Yes, the screen runs at 120Hz. Source: Apple

**Does it unlock with my face?** Yes, it unlocks with your face. Source: Apple

**How heavy is it?** It weighs 177g. Source: Apple

**How good is the camera?** It shoots on a 48MP main camera, one of 2 rear cameras. The front camera is 18MP. Source: Apple

**What video can it shoot?** It shoots 4K at 60fps. That is its highest setting. Source: Apple

**What colours does it come in?** It comes in 5 finishes. Black, Lavender, Mist Blue, Sage, and 1 more. Source: Apple

**How sharp and bright is the screen?** The screen reaches 3000 nits at its brightest. It packs 460 pixels into every inch. Source: Apple

**How thick is it?** It is 7.95mm thick. Source: Apple

**What chip is inside?** It runs on Apple A19. Source: Apple

**What software does it run?** It runs iOS 26. Source: Apple

**What is it made of?** It is made of aluminium. Source: Apple

**Does it do spatial audio?** Yes, it does spatial audio. Source: Apple

### Sizing and fit

**What sizes does it come in?** Storage: 256GB or 512GB. Aluminum design; Ceramic Shield 2 front; color-infused glass back Source: Apple

### Battery and charging

**How long does the battery last?** It runs 27 hours playing streamed video. That is 30 hours playing video. Source: Apple

**How fast does it charge?** It charges in 20 minutes, to 50%. That is wired, with a fast charger. Source: Apple

**Does it charge wirelessly?** Yes, it charges wirelessly. It takes up to 25W on a wireless pad. Source: Apple

**Does it charge over USB-C?** Yes, it charges over USB-C. Source: Apple

### Water

**Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** Yes, it survives a shower and a soaking. Its rating is IP68. Immersion beyond a metre is officially stated. Swimming laps and diving need a different rating, and it does not carry one. Source: Apple

### Price and models

**When did the iPhone 17 come out?** It went on sale September 19, 2025. Announced September 9, 2025. Source: iDevice

**Is there a newer one?** No. The iPhone 17 is the current model. Source: iDevice

**How much does the iPhone 17 cost?** List price: $829. Current price we last read at Best Buy: $829.99, August 27, 2026. Source: Apple

**What colors does it come in?** Black, Lavender, Mist Blue, Sage, White. Source: Apple

### Returns and warranty

**How long do I have to return it?** 14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**Is there a restocking fee?** Restocking fee: not stated by Apple Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Who pays return shipping?** Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Can I return it if I opened or wore it?** Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How do I get my money back?** How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How long is the warranty?** 1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/ios-warranty-document-us.html)

**Is there a paid protection plan?** Add AppleCare+ or AppleCare One AppleCare+ fees for iPhone: $29 screen and back glass, $99 other accidental damage, $149 theft and loss. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/applecare/fees-deductibles/)

**Is water damage covered?** Water damage not covered For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108039)

**Is the battery covered?** Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/applecare/)

### In the box

**What's in the box?** iPhone 17, USB-C Charge Cable, Documentation. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

### Works with

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Samsung Galaxy Buds4 / Buds4 Pro?** Yes, but only as Bluetooth earbuds on iPhone. Some features missing Source: [Samsung](https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS10003617/)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Google Pixel Buds?** Yes. Pixel Buds work with iPhone 17 as Bluetooth earbuds. Some features missing Source: [Google](https://support.google.com/googlepixelbuds/answer/7544332?hl=en)

**Does the Apple iPhone 17 work with Apple CarPlay?** Yes. iPhone 17 supports CarPlay in compatible vehicles and stereos. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/ios/carplay/)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle MagSafe chargers and accessories?** Yes. iPhone 17 supports MagSafe. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Qi2 wireless chargers?** Yes. iPhone 17 supports Qi2 wireless charging. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle USB-C charging?** Yes. iPhone 17 charges over USB-C. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Dual eSIM?** Yes. The cited iPhone 17 model supports two active eSIMs and stores eight or more eSIMs. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle 5G mmWave (US model)?** Yes. Apple's cited US iPhone 17 model supports 5G mmWave. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

**Does the Apple iPhone 17 work with Android Auto?** No. iPhone 17 does not run Android Auto. Doesn't work Source: [Google](https://www.android.com/auto/)

**Does the Apple iPhone 17 work with Apple Health?** Yes. Apple Health is built into the iPhone ecosystem and supports data from compatible apps and devices. Works Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/guide/iphone/share-your-health-data-iph5ede58c3d/27/ios/27)

**Does the Apple iPhone 17 support Apple satellite features?** Yes. iPhone 17 supports Apple's satellite features, including Emergency SOS and Messages via satellite. Some features missing Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Charge AirPods/Apple Watch from iPhone 17?** Yes, by cable. iPhone 17 can power small USB-PD devices such as AirPods or Apple Watch. Some features missing Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-gb/105099)

**Does the Apple iPhone 17 work with Mac?** Yes. iPhone 17 connects to a Mac by cable for setup, syncing, file transfer and other supported tasks. Works Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/guide/iphone/connect-iphone-and-your-computer-with-a-cable-iph42d9b3178/27/ios/27)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle Physical SIM card (US iPhone 17)?** No. Apple's US iPhone 17 specification is eSIM-only. Doesn't work Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle power adapter in the box?** No. A wall power adapter is not included with iPhone 17. Doesn't work Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone 17 handle USB-C monitor / DisplayPort video out?** Yes. iPhone 17 supports video output over USB-C DisplayPort. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-17/specs/)

**Does the Apple iPhone 17 work with Windows PC by USB?** Yes. iPhone 17 can connect to a Windows PC by cable. Works Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/guide/iphone/connect-iphone-and-your-computer-with-a-cable-iph42d9b3178/27/ios/27)

**Does the Apple iPhone 17 work with Windows Phone Link?** Yes. iPhone 17 works with Microsoft Phone Link, but the iPhone integration is narrower than Android integration. Some features missing Source: [Microsoft](https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/apps/phonelink/phone-link-requirements-and-setup)

