# Apple iPhone Air (1st gen)

The text version of the iDevice Guide at https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen. Same data as the page, last updated 2026-10-29.

> iPhone Air is 5.64mm of titanium at 165g, with one 48MP camera and the A19 Pro chip. $1,099.

- Status: On sale
- List price: $999 (The official starting price.)
- Released Sep 19, 2025
- Guide: https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen
- Last updated: 2026-10-29

## Can it do this?

- **How long does the battery last?** Apple rates it at 27 hours of video playback, or 22 hours streaming. That is the shortest in the iPhone 17 line, and it is what a 5.64mm body costs you. The MagSafe Battery takes it to 40 hours, and the iPhone 17 Pro reaches 33 hours without one at $1,099. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-how-long-does-the-battery-last))
- **Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** Yes. It is rated IP68, and Apple states 6 metres for 30 minutes, so a shower or a drop in the sink is fine. Swimming laps and diving ask for a rating it does not carry. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-can-it-get-wet-shower-pool-swimming))
- **How much storage does it have?** It comes in 256GB, 512GB or 1TB, so the range starts at 256GB. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-how-much-storage-does-it-have))
- **Does it have a 120Hz screen?** Yes. ProMotion runs up to 120Hz and the display stays always-on. The Air gives up nothing on the screen. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-does-it-have-a-120hz-screen))
- **Does it do 5G?** Yes, on sub-6 5G. It lacks the higher-frequency 5G option found on the $1,099 iPhone 17 Pro. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-does-it-do-5g))
- **Does it unlock with my face?** Yes. Face ID works through the TrueDepth camera, in the dark and behind sunglasses. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-does-it-unlock-with-my-face))
- **How fast does it charge?** It reaches 50% in about 30 minutes on a 20W or higher USB-C adapter. That is ten minutes slower to half than the rest of the iPhone 17 line. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-how-fast-does-it-charge))
- **How heavy is it?** It weighs 165g, the lightest phone Apple sells. The standard iPhone 17 is 177g and the 17 Pro Max is 233g. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-how-heavy-is-it))
- **How good is the camera?** It shoots on a single 48MP camera with a 2x telephoto crop, and an 18MP front camera. There is no ultra-wide lens, so wide landscapes and tight indoor shots are what you give up. The iPhone 17 adds a 48MP ultra-wide at $799, and the 17 Pro adds a 4x telephoto on top of that at $1,099. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-how-good-is-the-camera))
- **What video can it shoot?** It records 4K Dolby Vision at up to 60fps. ProRes and 4K at 120fps are iPhone 17 Pro features, at $1,099. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-what-video-can-it-shoot))
- **How does it connect?** It connects over Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6, with ultra-wideband and Thread, and it runs Apple's own C1X modem rather than a Qualcomm one. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-how-does-it-connect))
- **What colours does it come in?** It comes in four: Space Black, Cloud White, Light Gold and Sky Blue. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-what-colours-does-it-come-in))
- **How sharp and bright is the screen?** It packs 460 pixels into every inch and reaches 3,000 nits at its brightest, the same as the rest of the iPhone 17 line. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-how-sharp-and-bright-is-the-screen))
- **How thick is it?** It is 5.64mm thick, the thinnest iPhone Apple has made, and about 3mm slimmer than the iPhone 17 Pro. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#can-how-thick-is-it))

## Works with

- **How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle 5G mmWave?** Doesn't work. No. Apple's iPhone Air radio specification lists sub-6 GHz 5G, not mmWave. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-air/specs/). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **Does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) work with Android Auto?** Doesn't work. No. iPhone Air does not run Android Auto. Source: [Google](https://support.google.com/androidauto/answer/6348019?hl=en-uk). Checked 2026-09-22. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#q-android-auto))
- **How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Apple AirPods?** Works. Yes. AirPods work with iPhone Air. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/iphone/use-airpods-iph5dbdb05b9/27/ios/27). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **Does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) work with Apple CarPlay?** Works. Yes. iPhone Air supports CarPlay with compatible vehicles. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-gb/105099). Checked 2026-09-22. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#q-carplay))
- **Does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) work with Apple Health?** Works. Yes. Apple Health is built into iPhone and supports data sharing with compatible apps and devices. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/guide/iphone/share-your-health-data-iph5ede58c3d/27/ios/27). Checked 2026-09-22. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#q-apple-health))
- **How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Charge accessories from iPhone over USB-C?** Works. Yes. iPhone Air can charge small USB-PD accessories over USB-C. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-gb/105099). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle eSIM?** Works. Yes. iPhone Air uses eSIM and supports dual active eSIMs. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-air/specs/). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Google Pixel Buds?** Some features missing. Yes. Pixel Buds work as Bluetooth earbuds with iPhone Air. Source: [Google](https://support.google.com/googlepixelbuds/answer/7544332?hl=en). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Google Pixel Watch?** Doesn't work. No. Pixel Watch does not support iPhone. Source: [Google](https://support.google.com/googlepixelwatch/answer/12652073?hl=en-en). Checked 2026-09-22.
- **How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle iPhone Air MagSafe Battery?** Works. Yes. Apple's iPhone Air MagSafe Battery is made specifically for iPhone Air. Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-la/125312). Checked 2026-09-22.

## Questions

### Does the iPhone Air come with a charger?

It comes with the USB-C Charge Cable. Apple's in-the-box list does not include a power adapter. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-air/specs/). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen#faq-does-the-iphone-air-come-with-a-charger))

---

Source: iDevice (https://idevice.com). Every spec, rumor and grade above links to where it came from. Full Guide: https://idevice.com/phones/iphone-air/roadmap/air-1st-gen. This file: https://idevice.com/guide-text/iphone-air-1.md.

## Questions and answers

### Using it

**How much storage does it have?** It comes with 1GB to 512GB of storage. There are 3 sizes: 1GB, 256GB and 512GB. Source: Apple

**Does it have a 120Hz screen?** Yes, the screen runs at 120Hz. Source: Apple

**Does it do 5G?** Yes, it does 5G. Sub-6 bands. Source: Apple

**Does it unlock with my face?** Yes, it unlocks with your face. Source: Apple

**How heavy is it?** It weighs 165g. Source: Apple

**How good is the camera?** It shoots on a 48MP main camera. The front camera is 18MP. Source: Apple

**What video can it shoot?** It shoots 4K at 60fps. That is its highest setting. Source: Apple

**How does it connect?** It connects over Bluetooth and Wi‑Fi 7. It also has Thread, for smart-home accessories. Source: Apple

**What colours does it come in?** It comes in 4 finishes. Cloud White, Light Gold, Sky Blue, Space Black. Source: Apple

**How sharp and bright is the screen?** The screen reaches 3000 nits at its brightest. It packs 460 pixels into every inch. Source: Apple

**How thick is it?** It is 5.64mm thick. Source: Apple

**What chip is inside?** It runs on Apple A19 Pro. Source: Apple

**What software does it run?** It runs iOS 26. Source: Apple

**What is it made of?** It is made of titanium. Source: Apple

**Does it do contactless payments?** Yes, it has NFC for contactless payments. Source: Apple

### Sizing and fit

**What sizes does it come in?** Storage: 1TB. Titanium design; Ceramic Shield 2 front and Ceramic Shield back Source: Apple

### Battery and charging

**How long does the battery last?** It runs 22 hours playing streamed video. That is 27 hours playing video, and 35 hours with magsafe battery streamed video playback. Source: Apple

**How fast does it charge?** It charges in 30 minutes, to 50%. That is wired, with a fast charger. Source: Apple

**Does it charge wirelessly?** Yes, it charges wirelessly. It takes up to 20W on a wireless pad. Source: Apple

### Water

**Can it get wet — shower, pool, swimming?** Yes, it survives a shower and a soaking. Its rating is IP68. Immersion beyond a metre is officially stated. Swimming laps and diving need a different rating, and it does not carry one. Source: Apple

### Price and models

**When did the iPhone Air come out?** It went on sale September 19, 2025. Announced September 9, 2025. Source: iDevice

**Is there a newer one?** No. The iPhone Air is the current model. Source: iDevice

**How much does the iPhone Air cost?** List price: $999. Current price we last read at Amazon: $949.99, October 30, 2026. Source: Apple

**What colors does it come in?** Cloud White, Light Gold, Sky Blue, Space Black. Source: Apple

### Returns and warranty

**How long do I have to return it?** 14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**Is there a restocking fee?** Restocking fee: not stated by Apple Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Who pays return shipping?** Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/shop/help/returns_refund)

**Can I return it if I opened or wore it?** Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How do I get my money back?** How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/sales-support/sales-policies/retail_us.html)

**How long is the warranty?** 1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/warranty/products/ios-warranty-document-us.html)

**Is there a paid protection plan?** Add AppleCare+ or AppleCare One AppleCare+ fees for iPhone: $29 screen and back glass, $99 other accidental damage, $149 theft and loss. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/legal/applecare/fees-deductibles/)

**Is water damage covered?** Water damage not covered For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides. Source: [Apple](https://support.apple.com/en-us/108039)

**Is the battery covered?** Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/applecare/)

### In the box

**What's in the box?** iPhone Air, USB-C Charge Cable, Documentation. Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-air/specs/)

### Works with

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Charge accessories from iPhone over USB-C?** Yes. iPhone Air can charge small USB-PD accessories over USB-C. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-gb/105099)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle eSIM?** Yes. iPhone Air uses eSIM and supports dual active eSIMs. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-air/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Google Pixel Buds?** Yes. Pixel Buds work as Bluetooth earbuds with iPhone Air. Some features missing Source: [Google](https://support.google.com/googlepixelbuds/answer/7544332?hl=en)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Google Pixel Watch?** No. Pixel Watch does not support iPhone. Doesn't work Source: [Google](https://support.google.com/googlepixelwatch/answer/12652073?hl=en-en)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle iPhone Air MagSafe Battery?** Yes. Apple's iPhone Air MagSafe Battery is made specifically for iPhone Air. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-la/125312)

**Does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) work with Mac?** Yes. iPhone Air can connect and sync with Mac. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-ie/125092)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle MagSafe charging?** Yes. iPhone Air supports MagSafe charging. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-air/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Oura Ring?** Yes. Oura Ring works with iPhone Air. Works Source: [Oura](https://support.ouraring.com/hc/en-us/articles/360025570013-Software-Updates-for-iOS)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Physical SIM card?** No. iPhone Air does not support physical SIM cards. Doesn't work Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-us/101569)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle power adapter in the box?** No. iPhone Air does not include a wall power adapter. Doesn't work Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-ie/125092)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Qi2 wireless charging?** Yes. iPhone Air supports Qi2 wireless charging. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/iphone-air/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Samsung Galaxy Buds?** Yes, but newer Galaxy Buds are Bluetooth-only on iPhone. Some features missing Source: [Samsung](https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS10003617/)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle Samsung Galaxy Watch (Wear OS models)?** No. Current Wear OS Galaxy Watch models do not pair with iPhone. Doesn't work Source: [Samsung](https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS10004668/)

**Does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) support Satellite SOS and messaging?** Yes. iPhone Air supports Apple's satellite safety and messaging features where available. Works Source: [Apple](https://www.apple.com/ca/iphone-air/specs/)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle USB-C external display?** Yes. iPhone Air supports external displays over USB-C. Works Source: [Apple Support](https://support.apple.com/en-gb/105099)

**How does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) handle WHOOP 5.0 / MG?** Yes. WHOOP works with iPhone Air. Works Source: [WHOOP](https://support.whoop.com/s/article/WHOOP-App-Minimum-Software-Requirements)

**Does the Apple iPhone Air (1st gen) work with Windows PC / Phone Link?** Yes. iPhone Air can link to a compatible Windows PC with Phone Link. Some features missing Source: [Microsoft](https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/apps/phonelink/phone-link-requirements-and-setup)

