# Snap Specs

The text version of the iDevice Guide at https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap. Same data as the page, last updated 2026-09-25.

> Pre-orders open from $2,195. The only consumer AR glasses with a real display shipping in 2026. Every rumor and spec graded.

- Status: Announced, taking preorders
- Official price: $2,195 (The maker's own starting price.) Source: [Android Police](https://www.androidpolice.com/snap-specs-are-the-augmented-reality-dream-weve-been-waiting-for/).
- Ships Fall 2026 (source: [Snap Newsroom](https://newsroom.snap.com/))
- Announced Jun 16, 2026
- Guide: https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap
- Last updated: 2026-09-25

## Key specs

| Spec | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Field of view | 51° | [macrumors.com](https://www.macrumors.com/2026/06/16/snap-specs-ar-glasses/) |
| Frame weight | 132 g or 136 g | [macrumors.com](https://www.macrumors.com/2026/06/16/snap-specs-ar-glasses/) |
| Battery | Up to 4 hours | [macrumors.com](https://www.macrumors.com/2026/06/16/snap-specs-ar-glasses/) |
| Case battery | 20 hours total with case | [macrumors.com](https://www.macrumors.com/2026/06/16/snap-specs-ar-glasses/) |
| Processors | Two Snapdragon chips | [macrumors.com](https://www.macrumors.com/2026/06/16/snap-specs-ar-glasses/) |
| Cameras | 2 color + 2 infrared cameras | [macrumors.com](https://www.macrumors.com/2026/06/16/snap-specs-ar-glasses/) |

## What will it have?

- **Will I need a subscription?** No, not to use the glasses. Snap sells developer tooling and a Lens ecosystem around them, and we expect the hardware to work on the Snapchat account you already have. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-i-need-a-subscription))
- **Will the battery last longer?** Snap rates it for up to 4 hours of mixed use per charge. The charging case brings total use to about 20 hours before the case needs power. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-the-battery-last-longer))
- **Will it cost more?** It costs $2,195. Pre-orders require a $200 refundable deposit, with shipments planned for the United States, United Kingdom and France. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-it-cost-more))
- **Will the screen change?** Yes. It uses a new see-through waveguide display, which routes the image through the lens while still letting you see the real world, with a 51-degree field of view. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-the-screen-change))
- **Will it be lighter?** Yes. The two sizes weigh 132g and 136g, about 40% less than Snap's previous developer Spectacles. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-it-be-lighter))
- **Will I get prescription lenses?** Yes. It supports removable prescription lens inserts, so people who need vision correction can add it without replacing the display optics themselves. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-i-get-prescription-lenses))
- **Will I take a photo without using my hands?** Yes, you can take one by voice. There is no capture button on the frame.  ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-i-take-a-photo-without-using-my-hands))
- **Will it work without my phone?** Yes. It is a standalone device and does not require a nearby phone to operate. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-it-work-without-my-phone))
- **Will the camera be better?** It has four cameras: two RGB cameras for photos and video, and two infrared cameras for tracking and spatial understanding. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-the-camera-be-better))
- **Will it connect any differently?** Yes. It works on its own without a phone and can also connect to a computer, phone or gaming console with a USB-C streaming cable. We expect Wi-Fi as part of the standalone setup. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-it-connect-any-differently))
- **Will it get a new chip?** Yes. It uses two Snapdragon processors, one for computer vision and one for running Lenses. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-it-get-a-new-chip))
- **Will it run a new assistant?** Snap says SPECS include contextual AI assistance, but it has not clearly named one fixed consumer assistant in its current public product information. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-it-run-a-new-assistant))
- **Will it do AR?** Yes. It places digital objects into the real world through see-through augmented-reality displays. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-it-do-ar))
- **Will the field of view be wider?** Its field of view is 51 degrees. Snap compares that view to a 24-inch desktop monitor up close or a 115-inch screen from about 10 feet away. ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#can-will-the-field-of-view-be-wider))

## Questions

### How much do Snap Specs cost?

Snap introduced Specs at Augmented World Expo (AWE) 2026 on June 16, 2026, pricing them at $2,195, with a $200 refundable deposit for pre-order. Source: [Snap Newsroom](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#faq-how-much-do-snap-specs-cost))

### When do Snap Specs launch?

Snap says Specs are expected to ship this fall in the United States, the United Kingdom and France. Pre-orders are open now at $2,195, with a $200 refundable deposit. Source: [Snap Newsroom](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#faq-when-do-snap-specs-launch))

### Have Snap Specs shipped yet, or are they still pre-order?

Not yet. Specs are pre-order only, with a $200 refundable deposit against the $2,195 price. Snap held a launch event on Wednesday, September 16 in Los Angeles, where CEO Evan Spiegel gave the first in-depth look. Snap says Specs are expected to ship this fall in the United States, the United Kingdom and France. Source: [Snap Newsroom](https://newsroom.snap.com/specs-launch-date). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#faq-have-snap-specs-shipped-yet-or-are-they-still-pre-order))

### What makes Snap Specs different from Meta Ray-Ban, Samsung Galaxy Glasses, or Xreal Aura?

Snap Specs have true see-through AR lenses that place digital objects in your field of view, with no phone, no puck and no tether. Snap says Specs deliver a 51-degree field of view. The closer comparison is Xreal Aura, which also ships in fall 2026 with a 70-degree field of view, but Aura connects to a separate compute puck while Specs are fully standalone. Source: [Snap Newsroom](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#faqs-what-makes-snap-specs-different-from-meta-ray-ban-samsung-galaxy-glasses))

### Do Snap Specs require a phone?

No. Snap Specs are fully standalone, with no puck and no tether. They run on two Snapdragon processors, one dedicated to computer vision and the other to running Lenses. Battery life is up to four hours of mixed use on a single charge, with the included charging case providing up to 20 total hours. Source: [Snap Newsroom](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#faqs-do-snap-specs-require-a-phone))

### What apps and content work on Snap Specs?

Snap Specs run Lenses built by Snap's developer community, from games and AR art to education tools like Vector Fields and interactive lessons overlaid on real objects. Developers build in Lens Studio. Snap has partnered with HBO on a Harry Potter AR experience for launch. Source: [Snap Newsroom](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#faqs-what-apps-and-content-work-on-snap-specs))

### How do you control Snap Specs?

Voice and hand gestures. Opening your palm summons quick settings, and Snap calls the approach instinctual computing, using natural voice commands and simple gestures instead of a controller. Source: [Tom's Guide](https://www.tomsguide.com/computing/smart-glasses/snap-specs-hands-on-review). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#faqs-how-do-you-control-snap-specs))

### What is Snap OS?

Snap OS is Snap's own operating system for Spectacles and Specs. It powers the Lens runtime, hand tracking, voice interaction and other core AR experiences. Snap OS 2.0 was introduced in September 2025. Source: [Snap Newsroom](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-snap-os-2.0). ([on the Guide](https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap#faqs-what-is-snap-os))

## Top reports

- **The lenses put digital objects into the room in front of you** (Right.) They use see-through waveguides rather than a floating screen, over 51 degrees. First reported by [Gizmodo](https://gizmodo.com/snaps-new-ar-glasses-are-trying-to-beat-meta-to-the-punch-2000772470) on Jun 16, 2026.
- **Two Snapdragon chips split the work between them** (Right.) One handles computer vision, the other runs Snap's AR. Snap has not disclosed the models. First reported by [AR Insider](https://arinsider.co/2026/06/16/snaps-long-awaited-consumer-specs-step-into-the-light/) on Jun 16, 2026.
- **The glasses have four cameras and only two of them take pictures** (Right.) Two cameras shoot. Two map the room. First reported by [MacRumors](https://www.macrumors.com/2026/06/16/snap-specs-ar-glasses/) on Jun 16, 2026.
- **The glasses run four hours a charge, and the case adds sixteen more** (Right.) Four hours per charge. The case adds sixteen more. First reported by [AR Insider](https://arinsider.co/2026/06/16/snaps-long-awaited-consumer-specs-step-into-the-light/) on Jun 16, 2026.
- **The glasses are about 40% lighter than the last generation** (Right.) The two frame sizes weigh 132g and 136g, far more than AI-only smart glasses. First reported by [Gizmodo](https://gizmodo.com/snaps-new-ar-glasses-are-trying-to-beat-meta-to-the-punch-2000772470) on Jun 16, 2026.
- **Hundreds of lenses are already built and ready to run** (Partly right.) Built during years of developer kits. How well they run on consumer hardware is untested. First reported by [AR Insider](https://arinsider.co/2026/06/16/snaps-long-awaited-consumer-specs-step-into-the-light/) on Jun 16, 2026.
- **The glasses cost $2,195, confirmed by Snap** (Right.) Pre-orders take a $200 refundable deposit, shipping in the US, UK and France in fall 2026. First reported by [Android Police](https://www.androidpolice.com/snap-specs-are-the-augmented-reality-dream-weve-been-waiting-for/) on Jun 17, 2026.
- **Only about 100,000 pairs will be made for launch** (Still open.) It is a deliberately limited first run for a $2,195 first-generation product. First reported by [Gizmodo](https://gizmodo.com/snaps-ar-glasses-may-launch-soon-with-a-jaw-dropping-pricing-2000762457) on May 22, 2026.

---

Source: iDevice (https://idevice.com). Every spec, rumor and grade above links to where it came from. Full Guide: https://idevice.com/smart-glasses/snap-specs/roadmap. This file: https://idevice.com/guide-text/snap-spectacles.md.

## Questions and answers

### Using it

**How do I pair it?** Bluetooth pairing lets you connect SPECS to your phone so you can take calls, see notifications, and listen to music while keeping your hands free and your attention on the world around you. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/making-computing-more-human-with-specs)

**How do I update it?** Over the past year and a half, we've shipped 10 Snap OS updates with more than 40 new features and APIs. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses)

**Prescription range?** SPECS support custom single-vision inserts from -8 to +2 diopters through trusted prescription partners. You can request prescription support during pre-order, and we'll share details on how to complete your purchase closer to your ship date. Source: [Specs](https://www.specs.com/support)

**Developer platform?** We're introducing agentic development for building SPECS Lenses in Lens Studio through a developer preview rolling out in Claude Code, Codex, and Cursor. We're also introducing the SPECS Spatial Benchmark, the Migration Agent, and a new Native Development Kit that allows developers to bring their own code and libraries into Lens Studio. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses)

**Launch event date?** Register to watch the livestream at specs.com/launch on Wednesday, September 16 at 4:00pm PT. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/specs-launch-date)

**Fov?** The display system is powered by our proprietary liquid crystal on silicon technology, delivering a 51-degree field of view and 16 million colors. The result is a large, vivid display that feels like a 24-inch desktop monitor when you're working, or a 115-inch home cinema screen placed about 10 feet away when you're watching a movie. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses)

**How long is the warranty?** SPECS purchases include a One-Year Limited Warranty that covers defects in materials and workmanship under normal use. The warranty does not cover damage caused by accidents, misuse, unauthorized modifications, normal wear and tear, or loss or theft. Source: [Specs](https://www.specs.com/support)

**Apps lenses?** Developers have already built hundreds of Lenses for SPECS, unlocking shared experiences that screens cannot, from reading the green, to overlaying interactive lessons onto your drum set with Drum Kit, to education tools like Vector Fields that make invisible forces visible. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses)

**Deposit?** Today, SPECS are available for pre-order at SPECS.COM for $2,195, with a $200 refundable deposit. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses)

**Cellular case price?** The SPECS Connected Case bundle will be available for $2,395. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/making-computing-more-human-with-specs)

**Carrier plan price?** The SPECS Connected Case bundle will be available for $2,395. Verizon will offer eligible customers financing options, including a 36 month payment plan. Connected Wearable data plans are available from $10/month for Verizon customers and from $20/month for non-Verizon customers. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/making-computing-more-human-with-specs)

**Cellular plan?** Connected Wearable data plans are available from $10/month for Verizon customers and from $20/month for non-Verizon customers. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/making-computing-more-human-with-specs)

**Try in person?** Beginning October 1, the SPECS First Look will be available at Westfield Century City in Los Angeles. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/making-computing-more-human-with-specs)

**Demo location?** Beginning October 1, the SPECS First Look will be available at Westfield Century City in Los Angeles. There, you can experience SPECS in person, meet members of the team, and check out what we're building. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/making-computing-more-human-with-specs)

**Shipping?** Shipping is expected to begin later this fall in the United States, United Kingdom, and France. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/making-computing-more-human-with-specs)

**Can I get prescription lenses?** Yes, with a prescription insert. A separate prescription lens carrier, bought and fitted on top. Source: Snap

**Do the lenses tint automatically?** Yes, the lenses tint themselves. Source: Snap

**How good is the camera?** It has 4 rear cameras. There are also 2 infrared sensors that take no pictures. Reported by outlets, not confirmed by the maker. Source: Snap

**What does it cost?** It costs $2195. That is the list price. Source: Snap

**What kind of screen is it?** It uses a waveguide. Light is piped through the lens, so you see the world and the image at once. There is one panel per eye. Reported by outlets, not confirmed by the maker. Source: Snap

**Do I need a subscription?** No, there is no subscription. This one is unconfirmed, because the maker has not stated it. Source: Snap

**How heavy is it?** It weighs 132g to 136g. The weight varies by size or finish. Source: Snap

**Can I take a photo without using my hands?** Yes, you can take one by voice. There is no capture button on the frame. Source: Snap

**Does it work without my phone?** Yes, it works on its own. It does not need a phone nearby. Source: Snap

**How does it connect?** It connects over Bluetooth. Source: Snap

**Which AI assistant does it use?** It uses My AI. The assistant is fixed, so you cannot swap it. Source: Snap

**Does it do AR?** Yes, it places things in the room around you. Content is anchored to the room around you. Source: Snap

**How wide is the field of view?** It covers 51 degrees. That is how much of your view the image fills. Source: Snap

**Whose frames are they?** The maker designs its own frames. No outside eyewear brand is involved. Source: Snap

**How many microphones?** It has 6 microphones. They handle calls, voice control and recording. Source: Snap

**Can people tell when it is recording?** Yes, a light comes on. People around you can see when the camera is running. Source: Snap

**Can it give me directions?** Yes, it can give you directions. It gives turn-by-turn directions without you taking your phone out. Source: Snap

**Does it have a screen?** Yes, it has a screen. Source: Snap

**Can I hear it without earbuds?** Yes, it has open-ear speakers that play out loud. Source: Snap

**Can I control it with gestures?** Yes, you can control it with gestures. Source: Snap

**Can it see and answer questions about what I am looking at?** Yes, it can see what you are looking at and answer about it. Source: Snap

### Sizing and fit

**What sizes does it come in?** SPECS come in two sizes: Narrow Fit (47mm) and Wide Fit (52mm), and ship with swappable sizing nose-pads to help you achieve a perfect fit. Source: Snap

### Battery and charging

**How do I charge it?** SPECS offer up to four hours of mixed-use battery life, including audio and video playback, Lenses, AI assistance, Bluetooth notifications, and more. The included charging case provides four additional charges on the go for up to 20 total hours of mixed use. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses)

**Battery?** SPECS offer up to four hours of mixed-use battery life, including audio and video playback, Lenses, AI assistance, Bluetooth notifications, and more. The included charging case provides four additional charges on the go for up to 20 total hours of mixed use. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses)

**Box contents?** The included charging case provides four additional charges on the go for up to 20 total hours of mixed use. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses)

**Cellular case?** Sold separately, it provides four additional charges and offers cellular connectivity from leading wireless carriers around the world, so you can stay powered and connected wherever you go. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/making-computing-more-human-with-specs)

**How long does the battery last?** It runs 4 hours. That is 4 hours at most, and 20 hours with the case. Source: Snap

**Does it need a battery pack?** No, it has a built-in battery. Built-in battery plus charging case. Source: Snap

**Does it charge over USB-C?** Yes, it charges over USB-C. Source: Snap

### Price and models

**When did the Snap Specs come out?** It was announced June 16, 2026. Source: iDevice

**How much does each model of the Snap Specs cost?** specs wi fi : $2195, specs with charging case with cellular bundle: $2395. The maker's own prices. Source: [Snap](https://newsroom.snap.com/introducing-specs-augmented-reality-glasses)

