Apple iPhone 17 Pro
Phones

Apple iPhone 17 Pro Guide

Ask about the iPhone 17 Pro

MY IDEVICE

Released Guide updated

The 17 Pro moves to an aluminium unibody with Ceramic Shield on both the front and the back. The A19 Pro chip has a six-core graphics processor, and the camera system adds a 48MP telephoto at 4x with an 8x option on top of the 48MP main and ultra-wide. It records 4K Dolby Vision at 120fps and ProRes RAW, its USB-C port transfers at up to 10Gb/s, and Apple rates it at up to 33 hours of video playback.

Latest on Apple phones

All iPhone news

What iPhone 17 Pro does best

  1. Photos and video

    Three 48MP Fusion cameras give the equivalent of eight lenses, with 8x optical-quality zoom and 4K video at 120 fps.

  2. Gaming

    Destiny: Rising plays on the A19 Pro with impressive shading, reflections and fire, and graphics stay stable over long sessions.

  3. Work

    Record ProRes RAW, store up to 1TB, and move footage off over a 10Gb/s USB-C port.

What 3 reviewers said

More reviews

The camera and screen are excellent.

Camera

The reviewer calls the Pro models the best smartphone cameras currently available in the US.

Screen

The Pro models' screens are called out as bright with a 120Hz refresh rate.

Comparison

Compare phones

How it compares

Price

$1,099

What it costs to buy. None of these need a subscription.

Weight

206g

Grams in your hand. Lower is lighter.

Battery life

~33 hrs

How long it lasts on its own, away from a charger.

Price

Apple iPhone 17 Pro
$1,099
Samsung Galaxy S26
$899.99
Apple iPhone Air (1st gen)
$1,099
Google Pixel 11 Pro
$1,099
Apple iPhone 18 Pro
$1,199

Current list prices.

The handset as sold, without a case.

Hours of video playback, as each phone's own company reports it. A phone whose company gives only a typical-use figure or a battery capacity is not on this chart: those are different measures.

If not this one

  • If battery life decides itiPhone Air (1st gen)

    Reviewers prefer its battery life.

    $1,099
  • If display decides itPixel 11 Pro

    Brighter screen: up to 3,600 nits, against up to 3,000 nits here.

    $1,099
  • If big-screen multitasking decides itiPhone Duo

    Stronger on big-screen multitasking, in iDevice's view.

    $1,999

Most paired with

Everything it works with

What the Apple iPhone 17 Pro works with

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the Apple Watch Series 12?

Yes. Apple requires iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later to set up this watch.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the AirPods Pro 3?

Yes. AirPods Pro 3 work fully with a compatible iPhone.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the Oura Ring 5?

Yes. Oura Ring 5 uses the Oura app on iPhone.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3)?

Yes. Ray-Ban's page for Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) says it needs a compatible phone with Android or iOS and wireless internet access.

Works with

Works

iPhone 17 Pro's USB-C port supports USB 3 speeds up to 10Gb/s.

What you need
A USB 3 cable rated for 10Gb/s.

Most paired with

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the Apple Watch Series 12?

Yes. Apple requires iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later to set up this watch.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the AirPods Pro 3?

Yes. AirPods Pro 3 work fully with a compatible iPhone.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the Oura Ring 5?

Yes. Oura Ring 5 uses the Oura app on iPhone.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3)?

Yes. Ray-Ban's page for Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) says it needs a compatible phone with Android or iOS and wireless internet access.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the Apple Watch Ultra 4?

Yes. Apple requires iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later to set up this watch.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the AirPods 5?

Yes. AirPods 5 work fully with a compatible iPhone.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the Ultrahuman Ring Pro?

Yes. The Ultrahuman app supports iPhone.

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with the Meta Glasses (2026)?

Yes. Meta Glasses pair with an iPhone through the Meta AI app.

How it works

Works

iPhone 17 Pro supports dual eSIM: two active eSIMs, and it stores eight or more.

Works

iPhone 17 Pro supports MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W.

What you need
A MagSafe charger with a 30W or higher power adapter for the full 25W.
Doesn't work

Apple's US iPhone 17 Pro specification is eSIM-only.

Doesn't work

iPhone 17 Pro does not include a power adapter. The box holds a USB-C Charge Cable.

Works

iPhone 17 Pro supports Qi2 wireless charging up to 25W.

Works

iPhone 17 Pro charges over USB-C and fast charges with a 40W or higher adapter, sold separately.

What you need
A 40W or higher USB-C power adapter, sold separately, for the fastest charge.
Works

iPhone 17 Pro supports video out over USB-C through native DisplayPort, up to 4K HDR.

What you need
A display and cable that take DisplayPort over USB-C, or Apple's USB-C Digital AV Adapter, sold separately.
4.3 / 5
Excellent

Camera

The reviewer calls the Pro models the best smartphone cameras currently available in the US.

Screen

The Pro models' screens are called out as bright with a 120Hz refresh rate.

Scores published by other outlets, normalized and averaged. iDevice did not test these products for this score.

3 expert reviews

  1. PhoneArena
    Victor HristovSep 23, 2025
    4 / 5
    Read review
  2. WIRED
    Julian ChokkattuSep 17, 2025
    4.4 / 5
    Read review
  3. Engadget
    Cherlynn Low
    4.7 / 5
    Read review

Reviewer breakdown

What reviewers agreed on, and how many raised each

  • Camera3
  • Screen3

Liked itDidn’t

Nov 25, 2024 · First sign of it
The Information reports a new part-aluminum, part-glass Pro design
The Information reported that Apple was redesigning the iPhone 17 Pro and Pro Max with a rear enclosure combining aluminum and glass.
Mar 20, 2025 · Others confirmed it
Dummy units reinforce the reported mixed-material rear design
AppleInsider published images of dummy iPhone 17 Pro models showing a rear casing divided between metal and glass. The physical mockups corroborated the broad enclosure change that had been reported months earlier.
Jul 27, 2025 · New feature
MacRumors reports several new camera features for the Pro models
MacRumors said an anonymous tipster had supplied several camera claims for the iPhone 17 Pro models, including expanded telephoto capability and additional pro-oriented camera features. It was a late pre-launch report that materially expanded the expected camera story.
Sep 9, 2025 · Announced
Apple announces iPhone 17 Pro
Apple formally announced the iPhone 17 Pro alongside the iPhone 17 Pro Max. The announcement confirmed a redesigned Pro enclosure and a new thermal architecture, moving the product from reporting into an announced state.
Sep 19, 2025 · Went on sale
iPhone 17 Pro reaches stores
The iPhone 17 Pro went on sale on September 19 with the rest of the iPhone 17 lineup.

Reveal to on sale

How long after the reveal can you actually buy one?

11 Pro10 days
12 Pro10 days
13 Pro10 days
14 Pro9 days
15 Pro10 days
16 Pro11 days

Every generation went on sale 9 to 11 days after being revealed.

At a glance

Apple iPhone 17 ProPREVIOUS MODELApple iPhone 17 ProApple iPhone 18 ProCURRENT MODELApple iPhone 18 Pro
Display
6.3-inch Super Retina XDR OLED, 2622×1206 at 460ppiAlways-On; ProMotion up to 120Hz; up to 3,000 nits outdoor peak brightness
6.3-inch Super Retina XDR OLED, 2622×1206 at 460 ppi (Pro Max: 6.9-inch, 2868×1320 at 460 ppi)ProMotion up to 120Hz, Always-On, 3000 nits peak outdoor
Battery
Up to 33 hrs video playbackup to 30 hrs streamed video playback
Up to 24 hrs typical use, 36 hrs video playback (Pro Max: 30 hrs typical use, 45 hrs video playback)
Software
iOS 26
iOS 27
Connectivity
5G Sub-6 and mmWave, N1 wireless networking chip, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread, second-generation UWB, NFC
5G sub-6 and mmWave with 4x4 MIMO, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread, second-gen Ultra Wideband, NFCdual eSIM (no physical SIM)
Price
From $1099
From $1199
Rear camera
48MP Pro Fusion system: 48MP main (24mm, ƒ/1.78), 12MP 2x optical-quality telephoto from main sensor, 48MP ultra-wide (13mm, ƒ/2.2), 48MP telephoto (100mm, 4x, ƒ/2.8), plus 12MP 8x optical-quality optionup to 40x digital zoom
48MP Pro Fusion system: 48MP Main with variable aperture (f/1.48-f/4.0) 24mm, 48MP Ultra Wide 13mm, 48MP Telephoto 100mm (4x)16x optical-quality zoom range
Front camera
18MP Center Stage camera, ƒ/1.9, autofocus
18MP Center Stage camera, f/1.9, autofocus with Focus Pixels
Video
4K Dolby Vision up to 120fps on main cameraProRes up to 4K at 120fps with external recording; ProRes RAW
4K Dolby Vision up to 120 fpsProRes RAW; Apple Log 2; Genlock; spatial video 1080p/30; Dual Capture 4K/30
Storage
256GB, 512GB or 1TB
256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB
Water resistance
IP68 under IEC 60529up to 6m for 30 minutes
IP68 (maximum depth of 6 meters up to 30 minutes)
Show 6 more specs
Sound
Built-in stereo speakersSpatial Audio; four studio-quality microphones; supports AAC, APAC, MP3, Apple Lossless, FLAC, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus and Dolby Atmos
Spatial Audio and stereo recording, four studio-quality mics, built-in stereo speaker
Unlock
Face ID using TrueDepth camera
Face ID, enabled by TrueDepth technology in the Center Stage front camera
Buttons
Volume up/down, Action button, Camera Control, side buttonUSB-C 3 with up to 10Gb/s transfer speeds
Volume up/down, Action button, Camera Control, Side buttonUSB-C connector
Design
Aluminum unibodyCeramic Shield 2 front; Ceramic Shield back
Aluminum unibody design, Ceramic Shield 2 front, Ceramic Shield back
Dynamic Island
Dynamic Island
Dynamic Island, with Always-On display
Cellular chip
Unknown
Apple C2 cellular modem
Technical specs
Processor
A19 Pro with 6-core CPU, 6-core GPU and 16-core Neural Engine
A20 Pro: 6-core CPU (2 super cores, 4 efficiency cores), 7-core GPU with Neural Accelerators, Dual 16-core Neural Engine
Charging
Up to 50% in about 20 minutes with 40W-or-higher USB-C adapterabout 30 minutes with 30W-or-higher MagSafe; MagSafe/Qi2 wireless up to 25W
USB-Cup to 50% in around 15 minutes with a 60W adapter; MagSafe and Qi2 wireless up to 25W
Size
71.9 × 150.0 × 8.75mm206g
71.9 × 150.0 × 8.75mm, 211g (Pro Max: 78.0 × 163.4 × 8.75mm, 249g)

Where to buy

We do not track a store selling Apple iPhone 17 Pro new now. The iPhone 18 Pro replaced it on September 18, 2026.

Returns and warranty

Apple's store policy today, checked on the models Apple sells now, not on Apple iPhone 17 Pro.

Returns
14-day returns· the clock starts the day it arrives
Warranty
1-year warranty· starts the day you buy it
Returns and warranty details

Returns

  • Send it back like new

    Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging.

  • How you get your money back

    Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days.

Warranty

Covered

  • Bands and accessories

    iPhone and Apple Vision Pro, with the Apple accessories in the box, are covered against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the date of original retail purchase, when used normally.

  • Battery covered only for defects

    The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity.

Not covered

  • Water damage

    For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides.

  • Accidents and misuse

    Damage caused by accident, abuse, misuse, fire, earthquake or other external cause is not covered (iPhone, Vision Pro, Apple Watch). The AirPods warranty excludes damage from abuse, accident, modifications or unauthorized repairs.

  • Scratches and dents

    Cosmetic damage such as scratches, dents and broken plastic on ports is not covered unless it comes from a defect.

  • Normal wear and aging

    Defects caused by normal wear and tear or normal aging are not covered.

  • Repairs by other shops

    Damage from service by anyone who is not Apple or an Apple Authorized Service Provider is not covered.

  • How it gets fixed

    Apple chooses to repair, replace with the same model (or a similar one with your consent), or refund the purchase price. For mail-in service Apple sends prepaid waybills and pays shipping both ways if you follow its packing instructions.

Good to know

  • IPhone Upgrade Program

    Returning the AppleCare+ part of an iPhone Upgrade Program purchase loses your upgrade option.

  • Activation Lock / Find My

    If the security features are on and cannot be turned off by the person returning it, Apple may refuse the return.

  • Opened software

    Opened software, software downloads and gift cards cannot be returned.

Price by generation

How the Apple iPhone 17 Pro line has been priced across generations.

$0$500$1,000$99911 Pro2019$99912 Pro2020$99913 Pro2021$99914 Pro2022$99915 Pro2023$99916 Pro2024$1,09917 Pro2025$1,19918 Pro2026$0$600$1,20011 Pro2019$99912 Pro2020$99913 Pro2021$99914 Pro2022$99915 Pro2023$99916 Pro2024$99917 Pro2025$1,09918 Pro2026$1,199
iPhone 17$899Available nowGuide News
iPhone 18 Pro Max$1,299Available nowGuide News
iPhone Air (1st gen)$1,099Available nowGuide News
iPhone Duo$1,999Available nowGuide News

Frequently asked questions

Questions about iPhone 17 Pro

Using it

How big is the screen?
The screen measures 6.3 inches.
How much storage does it have?
It comes with 256GB to 1TB of storage. There are 3 sizes: 256GB, 512GB and 1TB.
Does it have a 120Hz screen?
Yes, the screen runs at 120Hz.
Does it unlock with my face?
Yes, it unlocks with your face.
How heavy is it?
It weighs 206g.
How good is the camera?
It shoots on a 48MP main camera, one of 3 rear cameras. The front camera is 18MP.
What video can it shoot?
It shoots 4K at 120fps. That is its highest setting.
What colours does it come in?
It comes in 3 finishes. Cosmic Orange, Deep Blue, Silver.
How sharp and bright is the screen?
The screen reaches 3000 nits at its brightest. It packs 460 pixels into every inch.
How thick is it?
It is 8.75mm thick.
What chip is inside?
It runs on Apple A19 Pro.
What software does it run?
It runs iOS 26.
How many microphones?
It has 4 microphones. They handle calls, voice control and recording.
What is it made of?
It is made of aluminium. Machined from one piece.
Does it do spatial audio?
Yes, it does spatial audio.

Sizing and fit

What sizes does it come in?
Storage: 256GB, 512GB or 1TB.

Battery and charging

How long does the battery last?
It runs 30 hours playing streamed video. That is 33 hours playing video.
How fast does it charge?
It charges in 20 minutes, to 50%. That is wired, with a fast charger.
Does it charge wirelessly?
Yes, it charges wirelessly. It takes up to 25W on a wireless pad.
Does it charge over USB-C?
Yes, it charges over USB-C.

Water

Can it get wet (shower, pool, swimming)?
Yes, it survives a shower and a soaking. Its rating is IP68. Immersion beyond a metre is officially stated. Swimming laps and diving need a different rating, and it does not carry one.

Price and models

When did the iPhone 17 Pro come out?
It went on sale September 19, 2025. Announced September 9, 2025.
Is there a newer one?
Yes: the iPhone 18 Pro, out September 18, 2026.
How much does the iPhone 17 Pro cost?
List price: $1,099. Current price we last read at Best Buy: $944.17, October 11, 2026.
What colors does it come in?
Cosmic Orange, Deep Blue, Silver.

Returns and warranty

How long do I have to return it?
14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives.
Is there a restocking fee?
Restocking fee: not stated by Apple
Who pays return shipping?
Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store.
Can I return it if I opened or wore it?
Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging.
How do I get my money back?
How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days.
How long is the warranty?
1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it.
Is water damage covered?
Water damage not covered For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides.
Is the battery covered?
Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity.

Works with

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro work with USB 3 data transfer (10Gb/s)?
Yes. iPhone 17 Pro's USB-C port supports USB 3 speeds up to 10Gb/s. Works
How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro handle USB-C fast charging?
Yes. iPhone 17 Pro charges over USB-C and fast charges with a 40W or higher adapter, sold separately. Works
How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro handle USB-C monitor / DisplayPort video out?
Yes. iPhone 17 Pro supports video out over USB-C through native DisplayPort, up to 4K HDR. Works