Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max

Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max Guide

Last updated

Apple stopped selling the 17 Pro Max on September 9, the day it announced the iPhone 18 Pro Max, so you'll find it at carriers and stores clearing stock. Apple rates it at 39 hours of video playback against the 17 Pro's 33, on a 6.9-inch 120Hz display at 3,000 nits, with the same 48MP main, ultra-wide and 4x telephoto. It weighs 233g and is 8.75mm thick.

iDevice advice

iPhone 18 Pro Max is out. See whether it is worth moving up from Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max.

Best for

Photos and video. Show why
It carries the same three-camera pro system as the 17 Pro.
Movies. Show why
It has a 6.9-inch screen and plays video for up to 39 hours.
Gaming. Show why
It runs the same A19 Pro graphics as the rest of the iPhone 17 Pro family.

Most paired with

Everything it works with

What the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max works with

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the Apple Watch Series 12?

Yes. Apple requires iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later to set up this watch.

From the Apple Watch Series 12 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the AirPods Pro 3?

Yes. AirPods Pro 3 work fully with a compatible iPhone.

From the AirPods Pro 3 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the Oura Ring 5?

Yes. Oura Ring 5 uses the Oura app on iPhone.

From the Oura Ring 5 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Oura

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3)?

Yes. Ray-Ban's page for Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) says it needs a compatible phone with Android or iOS and wireless internet access.

From the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Ray-Ban

Available nowApple iPhone 17$899Guide News
Available nowApple iPhone Air (1st gen)$1099Guide News
Available nowGoogle Pixel 11$899Guide News

Works with

Works

IPhone 17 Pro Max's USB-C port supports USB 3 speeds up to 10Gb/s.

What you need
A USB 3 cable rated for 10Gb/s.
See details and sources (1)
  • Apple: iPhone 17 Pro Max - Technical Specifications (US)From the official page or platform · checked 2026-10-12
    Included in the box is a USB‑C Charge Cable that supports fast charging and is compatible with USB‑C power adapters and computer ports.
    USB 3 cable with 10Gb/s speed required.

Last checked 2026-10-12.

Most paired with

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the Apple Watch Series 12?

Yes. Apple requires iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later to set up this watch.

From the Apple Watch Series 12 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the AirPods Pro 3?

Yes. AirPods Pro 3 work fully with a compatible iPhone.

From the AirPods Pro 3 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the Oura Ring 5?

Yes. Oura Ring 5 uses the Oura app on iPhone.

From the Oura Ring 5 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Oura

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3)?

Yes. Ray-Ban's page for Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) says it needs a compatible phone with Android or iOS and wireless internet access.

From the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Ray-Ban

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the Apple Watch Ultra 4?

Yes. Apple requires iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later to set up this watch.

From the Apple Watch Ultra 4 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the AirPods 5?

Yes. AirPods 5 work fully with a compatible iPhone.

From the AirPods 5 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the RingConn Gen 3?

Yes. RingConn Gen 3 supports iPhone.

From the RingConn Gen 3 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: RingConn

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with the Meta Glasses (2026)?

Yes. Meta Glasses pair with an iPhone through the Meta AI app.

From the Meta Glasses (2026) answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple App Store / Meta Platforms, Inc.

How it works

Works

IPhone 17 Pro Max supports dual eSIM: two active eSIMs, and it stores eight or more.

See details and sources (1)
  • Apple: iPhone 17 Pro Max - Technical Specifications (US)From the official page or platform · checked 2026-10-12
    Dual eSIM (two active eSIMs; stores eight or more eSIMs)
    iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 17 Pro Max use advanced eSIM technology for more convenience and security (not compatible with physical SIM cards).

Last checked 2026-10-12.

Works

IPhone 17 Pro Max supports MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W.

What you need
A MagSafe charger with a 30W or higher power adapter for the full 25W.
See details and sources (1)
  • Apple: iPhone 17 Pro Max - Technical Specifications (US)From the official page or platform · checked 2026-10-12
    Up to 50% charge in 20 minutes 8 with 40W adapter or higher (available separately) paired with USB-C charging cable
    Included in the box is a USB‑C Charge Cable that supports fast charging and is compatible with USB‑C power adapters and computer ports.
    MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W with 30W power adapter or higher.
    Qi2 wireless charging up to 25W

Last checked 2026-10-12.

Doesn't work

Apple's US iPhone 17 Pro Max specification is eSIM-only.

See details and sources (1)
  • Apple: iPhone 17 Pro Max - Technical Specifications (US)From the official page or platform · checked 2026-10-12
    Up to 4K HDR through native DisplayPort output over USB-C or USB-C Digital AV Adapter (model A2119; adapter sold separately)
    Dual eSIM (two active eSIMs; stores eight or more eSIMs)
    iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 17 Pro Max use advanced eSIM technology for more convenience and security (not compatible with physical SIM cards).

Last checked 2026-10-12.

Doesn't work

IPhone 17 Pro Max does not include a power adapter. The box holds a USB-C Charge Cable.

See details and sources (1)
  • Apple: iPhone 17 Pro Max - Technical Specifications (US)From the official page or platform · checked 2026-10-12
    Up to 4K HDR through native DisplayPort output over USB-C or USB-C Digital AV Adapter (model A2119; adapter sold separately)
    Up to 50% charge in 20 minutes 8 with 40W adapter or higher (available separately) paired with USB-C charging cable
    Included in the box is a USB‑C Charge Cable that supports fast charging and is compatible with USB‑C power adapters and computer ports.
    iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 17 Pro Max do not include a power adapter or EarPods.
    MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W with 30W power adapter or higher.
    USB 3 cable with 10Gb/s speed required.

Last checked 2026-10-12.

Works

IPhone 17 Pro Max supports Qi2 wireless charging up to 25W.

See details and sources (1)
  • Apple: iPhone 17 Pro Max - Technical Specifications (US)From the official page or platform · checked 2026-10-12
    Up to 50% charge in 20 minutes 8 with 40W adapter or higher (available separately) paired with USB-C charging cable
    Included in the box is a USB‑C Charge Cable that supports fast charging and is compatible with USB‑C power adapters and computer ports.
    MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W with 30W power adapter or higher.
    Qi2 wireless charging up to 25W

Last checked 2026-10-12.

Works

IPhone 17 Pro Max charges over USB-C and fast charges with a 40W or higher adapter, sold separately.

What you need
A 40W or higher USB-C power adapter, sold separately, for the fastest charge.
See details and sources (1)
  • Apple: iPhone 17 Pro Max - Technical Specifications (US)From the official page or platform · checked 2026-10-12
    Up to 4K HDR through native DisplayPort output over USB-C or USB-C Digital AV Adapter (model A2119; adapter sold separately)
    Up to 50% charge in 20 minutes 8 with 40W adapter or higher (available separately) paired with USB-C charging cable
    Included in the box is a USB‑C Charge Cable that supports fast charging and is compatible with USB‑C power adapters and computer ports.
    iPhone 17 Pro and iPhone 17 Pro Max do not include a power adapter or EarPods.
    MagSafe wireless charging up to 25W with 30W power adapter or higher.
    Qi2 wireless charging up to 25W

Last checked 2026-10-12.

Works

IPhone 17 Pro Max supports video out over USB-C through native DisplayPort, up to 4K HDR.

What you need
A display and cable that take DisplayPort over USB-C, or Apple's USB-C Digital AV Adapter, sold separately.
See details and sources (1)

Last checked 2026-10-12.

4.5 / 5
Exceptional

Scores published by other outlets, normalized and averaged. iDevice did not test these products for this score.

4 expert reviews, 2 with a score

  1. Engadget
    Cherlynn LowSep 19, 2025
    4.7 / 5
    Read review
  2. WIRED
    Julian ChokkattuSep 17, 2025
    4.4 / 5
    Read review
  3. Tom's Guide
    Mark SpoonauerSep 27, 2025
    No score
    Read review
  4. TechRadar
    Lance UlanoffSep 17, 2025
    No score
    Read review
Aug 28, 2024 · First sign of it
Kuo report points to 12GB of RAM for iPhone 17 Pro Max
9to5Mac carried Ming-Chi Kuo's report that the 2025 iPhone 17 Pro Max would have 12GB of RAM and a more advanced cooling system than sibling models. The cooling exclusivity in that report was later contradicted by Apple's launch announcement, which put a vapor chamber in both Pro models.
Mar 20, 2025 · Others confirmed it
Dummy images add physical corroboration for the Pro Max redesign
MacRumors published Sonny Dickson dummy-unit images that showed the expected boundary between the glass and metal sections on the iPhone 17 Pro models. The imagery added physical corroboration to the earlier reports of a substantially changed rear enclosure.
Sep 9, 2025 · Announced
Apple launches iPhone 17 Pro Max with up to 2TB of storage
Apple formally introduced the iPhone 17 Pro Max on September 9. Reuters highlighted the new 2TB maximum storage tier while covering Apple's launch event.
Sep 19, 2025 · Went on sale
iPhone 17 Pro Max reaches stores
The iPhone 17 Pro Max went on sale with the rest of Apple's four-model iPhone 17 lineup on September 19. That establishes the release date missing from the starting brief.

Where to buy

We do not track a store selling Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max new now. The iPhone 18 Pro Max replaced it on September 18, 2026.

Returns and warranty

Apple's store policy today, checked on the models Apple sells now, not on Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max.

Returns

14-day returns· the clock starts the day it arrives

  • Send it back like new

    Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging.

  • How you get your money back
    Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item.
    Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days.

Warranty

1-year warranty· starts the day you buy it

Covered

  • Bands and accessories

    iPhone and Apple Vision Pro, with the Apple accessories in the box, are covered against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the date of original retail purchase, when used normally.

  • Battery covered only for defects
    The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect.
    The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity.

Not covered

  • Water damage
    For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty.
    The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides.
  • Accidents and misuse
    Damage caused by accident, abuse, misuse, fire, earthquake or other external cause is not covered (iPhone, Vision Pro, Apple Watch).
    The AirPods warranty excludes damage from abuse, accident, modifications or unauthorized repairs.
  • Scratches and dents

    Cosmetic damage such as scratches, dents and broken plastic on ports is not covered unless it comes from a defect.

  • Normal wear and aging

    Defects caused by normal wear and tear or normal aging are not covered.

  • Repairs by other shops

    Damage from service by anyone who is not Apple or an Apple Authorized Service Provider is not covered.

  • How it gets fixed
    Apple chooses to repair, replace with the same model (or a similar one with your consent), or refund the purchase price.
    For mail-in service Apple sends prepaid waybills and pays shipping both ways if you follow its packing instructions.

Good to know

  • IPhone Upgrade Program

    Returning the AppleCare+ part of an iPhone Upgrade Program purchase loses your upgrade option.

  • Activation Lock / Find My

    If the security features are on and cannot be turned off by the person returning it, Apple may refuse the return.

  • Opened software

    Opened software, software downloads and gift cards cannot be returned.

Price by generation

How the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max line has been priced across generations.

$0$500$1,000$1,19917 Pro Max2025$1,29918 Pro Max2026$0$650$1,30017 Pro Max2025$1,19918 Pro Max2026$1,299

Reveal to on sale

How long after the reveal can you actually buy one?

17 Pro Max10 days
18 Pro Max9 days

iPhone 18 Pro Max went on sale 9 days after its reveal; iPhone 17 Pro Max took 10.

Available nowApple iPhone 17$899Guide News
Available nowApple iPhone Air (1st gen)$1099Guide News
Available nowGoogle Pixel 11$899Guide News

Frequently asked questions

Questions about Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max

Using it

How big is the screen?
The screen measures 6.9 inches.
How much storage does it have?
It comes with 256GB to 2TB of storage. There are 4 sizes: 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB.
Does it have a 120Hz screen?
Yes, the screen runs at 120Hz.
Does it do 5G?
Yes, it does 5G. Sub-6 and mmWave, the fast short-range band included.
Does it unlock with my face?
Yes, it unlocks with your face.
How heavy is it?
It weighs 233g.
How good is the camera?
It shoots on a 48MP main camera, one of 3 rear cameras. The front camera is 18MP.
What video can it shoot?
It shoots 4K at 120fps. That is its highest setting.
How does it connect?
It connects over Bluetooth and Wi-Fi 7. It also has ultra-wideband, for precise finding and Thread, for smart-home accessories.
What colours does it come in?
It comes in 3 finishes. Cosmic Orange, Deep Blue, Silver.
How sharp and bright is the screen?
The screen reaches 3000 nits at its brightest. It packs 460 pixels into every inch.
How thick is it?
It is 8.75mm thick.
Does it do contactless payments?
Yes, it has NFC for contactless payments.

Battery and charging

How long does the battery last?
It runs 35 hours playing streamed video. That is 39 hours playing video.
How fast does it charge?
It charges in 20 minutes, to 50%. That is wired, with a fast charger.
Does it charge wirelessly?
Yes, it charges wirelessly. It takes up to 25W on a wireless pad.

Water

Can it get wet (shower, pool, swimming)?
Yes, it survives a shower and a soaking. Its rating is IP68. Immersion beyond a metre is officially stated. Swimming laps and diving need a different rating, and it does not carry one.

Price and models

When did the iPhone 17 Pro Max come out?
It went on sale September 19, 2025. Announced September 9, 2025.
Is there a newer one?
Yes: the iPhone 18 Pro Max, out September 18, 2026.
What colors does it come in?
Cosmic Orange, Deep Blue, Silver.

Returns and warranty

How long do I have to return it?
14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives.
Is there a restocking fee?
Restocking fee: not stated by Apple
Who pays return shipping?
Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store.
Can I return it if I opened or wore it?
Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging.
How do I get my money back?
How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days.
How long is the warranty?
1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it.
Is water damage covered?
Water damage not covered For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides.
Is the battery covered?
Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity.

Works with

Does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max work with USB 3 data transfer (10Gb/s)?
Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max's USB-C port supports USB 3 speeds up to 10Gb/s. Works
How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle uSB-C fast charging?
Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max charges over USB-C and fast charges with a 40W or higher adapter, sold separately. Works
How does the Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max handle uSB-C monitor / DisplayPort video out?
Yes. iPhone 17 Pro Max supports video out over USB-C through native DisplayPort, up to 4K HDR. Works

Apple's iPhone Duo demo plan fills flagship stores with over 150 units

Bloomberg's Mark Gurman reports Apple is preparing an unusually large retail demo rollout for the iPhone Duo's October 23 launch: more than 150 units at the Fifth Avenue flagship, nearly 100 at Apple Park, 30 to 40 at other flagship stores, and about 20 at smaller ones. Some units sit untethered so shoppers can fold them by hand. Supply is still expected to stay tight at launch.

You have reached the end of this stream

Those are all the stories we have lined up here.

More news