Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max

Apple iPhone 18 Pro MaxPrice, Specs & Battery Life

Price$1,299

Last updated

What it costs now, the full specification, and how it differs from the Pro.

iDevice advice

The Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max came out Sep 18, 2026, and its best price today is $1,299 at Apple. For a model this new, iDevice's advice is to buy it if you want it, not to wait for a drop.

Latest on Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max

More news

Best for

Photos and video. Show why
Apple's most advanced iPhone camera, with a 48MP main camera that now has a variable aperture.
Gaming. Show why
The A20 Pro chip is built for demanding games, on a 6.9-inch display.
AI assistant. Show why
Comes with the new Siri AI, rolling out in beta with iOS 27.

Comparison

Compare phones

How it compares

Price

From $1,299.00

What it costs to buy. None of these need a subscription.

Weight

249g

Grams in your hand. Lower is lighter.

Battery life

~45 hrs

How long it lasts on its own, away from a charger.

Cost over 3 years

Apple iPhone 17 Pro
$1,099
Apple iPhone 18 Pro
$1,199
Google Pixel 11 Pro XL
$1,299
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
$1,399.99

Current list prices.

The handset as sold, without a case.

Hours of video playback, as each maker states it. A phone whose maker gives only a typical-use figure or a battery capacity is not on this chart: those are different measures.

If not this one

  • If big-screen multitasking decides itApple iPhone Duo

    Stronger on big-screen multitasking, in iDevice's view.

    $1999

Most paired with

Everything it works with

What the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max works with

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the Apple Watch Series 12?

Yes. Apple requires iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later to set up this watch.

From the Apple Watch Series 12 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the AirPods Pro 3?

Yes. AirPods Pro 3 work fully with a compatible iPhone.

From the AirPods Pro 3 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the Oura Ring 5?

Yes. Oura Ring 5 uses the Oura app on iPhone.

From the Oura Ring 5 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Oura

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3)?

Yes. Ray-Ban's page for Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) says it needs a compatible phone with Android or iOS and wireless internet access.

From the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Ray-Ban

Get Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max updates

Email me when there's news.

Works with

These answers are the same as for the Apple iPhone 18 Pro and name nothing specific to one generation.

WorksSame as the Apple iPhone 18 Pro

Apple Health is built into the iPhone ecosystem and works with compatible apps, Apple Watch and third-party devices.

What you need
Compatible app/device and permissions where applicable.
What works
Stores and combines health data from iPhone, Apple Watch, compatible apps and third-party devices.
Good to know
Third-party compatibility varies by app/device.
See details and sources (1)
  • Apple: Get started with Health on iPhoneFrom the official page or platform · checked 2026-09-22
    The Health app on iPhone stores health data from a number of different sources: your iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, and compatible apps and third-party devices.

Last checked 2026-09-22.

Most paired with

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the Apple Watch Series 12?

Yes. Apple requires iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later to set up this watch.

From the Apple Watch Series 12 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the AirPods Pro 3?

Yes. AirPods Pro 3 work fully with a compatible iPhone.

From the AirPods Pro 3 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the Oura Ring 5?

Yes. Oura Ring 5 uses the Oura app on iPhone.

From the Oura Ring 5 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Oura

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3)?

Yes. Ray-Ban's page for Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) says it needs a compatible phone with Android or iOS and wireless internet access.

From the Ray-Ban Meta (Gen 3) answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Ray-Ban

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the Apple Watch Ultra 4?

Yes. Apple requires iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later to set up this watch.

From the Apple Watch Ultra 4 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the AirPods 5?

Yes. AirPods 5 work fully with a compatible iPhone.

From the AirPods 5 answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the Ultrahuman Ring Pro?

Yes. The Ultrahuman app supports iPhone.

From the Ultrahuman Ring Pro answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple

Does the Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max work with the Meta Glasses (2026)?

Yes. Meta Glasses pair with an iPhone through the Meta AI app.

From the Meta Glasses (2026) answer for this kind of phone or device. Source: Apple App Store / Meta Platforms, Inc.

At a glance

Apple iPhone 18 Pro MaxTHIS PRODUCTApple iPhone 18 Pro MaxApple iPhone 17 ProCOMPARE WITHApple iPhone 17 Pro
Display
6.9-inch Super Retina XDR OLED, 2868×1320 at 460 ppi
6.3-inch Super Retina XDR OLED, 2622×1206 at 460ppiAlways-On; ProMotion up to 120Hz; up to 3,000 nits outdoor peak brightness
Battery
Up to 30 hrs typical use, 45 hrs video playback
Up to 33 hrs video playbackup to 30 hrs streamed video playback
Software
iOS 27
iOS 26
Connectivity
5G (sub-6 GHz and mmWave), Gigabit LTE, Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6, with the Apple N1 wireless chip
5G Sub-6 and mmWave, N1 wireless networking chip, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread, second-generation UWB, NFC
Price
From $1299
From $1099
Camera
48MP Pro Fusion camera system48MP Fusion Main camera with variable aperture (f/1.48 to f/4.0), 24mm
48MP Pro Fusion system: 48MP main (24mm, ƒ/1.78), 12MP 2x optical-quality telephoto from main sensor, 48MP ultra-wide (13mm, ƒ/2.2), 48MP telephoto (100mm, 4x, ƒ/2.8), plus 12MP 8x optical-quality optionup to 40x digital zoom
Front camera
18MP Center Stage camera, f/1.9, autofocus with Focus Pixels
18MP Center Stage camera, ƒ/1.9, autofocus
Video
4K Dolby Vision up to 120 fps (Fusion Main)
4K Dolby Vision up to 120fps on main cameraProRes up to 4K at 120fps with external recording; ProRes RAW
Storage
256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB
256GB, 512GB or 1TB
Water resistance
IP68 (maximum depth of 6 meters up to 30 minutes)
IP68 under IEC 60529up to 6m for 30 minutes
Show 5 more specifications
Audio
Spatial Audio and stereo recording, four studio-quality mics
Built-in stereo speakersSpatial Audio; four studio-quality microphones; supports AAC, APAC, MP3, Apple Lossless, FLAC, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus and Dolby Atmos
Biometrics
Face ID, enabled by TrueDepth technology in the Center Stage front camera
Face ID using TrueDepth camera
Buttons
Volume up/down, Action button, Camera Control, Side buttonUSB-C connector
Volume up/down, Action button, Camera Control, side buttonUSB-C 3 with up to 10Gb/s transfer speeds
Design
Aluminum unibody design, Ceramic Shield 2 front, Ceramic Shield back
Aluminum unibodyCeramic Shield 2 front; Ceramic Shield back
Dynamic island
Dynamic Island, with Always-On display
Dynamic Island
More specs
Processor
A20 Pro: 6-core CPU (2 super cores, 4 efficiency cores), 7-core GPU with Neural Accelerators, Dual 16-core Neural Engine
A19 Pro with 6-core CPU, 6-core GPU and 16-core Neural Engine
Charging
USB-C fast charge: up to 50% in around 15 minutes with a 60W or higher adapter
Up to 50% in about 20 minutes with 40W-or-higher USB-C adapterabout 30 minutes with 30W-or-higher MagSafe; MagSafe/Qi2 wireless up to 25W
Fit and sizes
78.0 × 163.4 × 8.75mm, 249g
71.9 × 150.0 × 8.75mm206g

Buying decision

Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max
Fine to buy
Apple

Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max

Just came out

It came out September 18, 2026, and new products rarely go on sale this soon.

No new model soon

We don't expect a newer model soon, so there's no reason to wait for one.

About Apple

Apple makes the iPhone, Apple Watch and AirPods, and is known for hardware and software designed to work together.

Visit Apple

Returns and warranty

Returns

14-day returns· the clock starts the day it arrives

  • Send it back like new

    Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging.

  • How you get your money back
    Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item.
    Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days.

Warranty

1-year warranty· starts the day you buy it

Covered

  • Bands and accessories

    iPhone and Apple Vision Pro, with the Apple accessories in the box, are covered against defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the date of original retail purchase, when used normally.

  • Battery covered only for defects
    The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect.
    The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity.

Not covered

  • Water damage
    For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty.
    The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides.
  • Accidents and misuse
    Damage caused by accident, abuse, misuse, fire, earthquake or other external cause is not covered (iPhone, Vision Pro, Apple Watch).
    The AirPods warranty excludes damage from abuse, accident, modifications or unauthorized repairs.
  • Scratches and dents

    Cosmetic damage such as scratches, dents and broken plastic on ports is not covered unless it comes from a defect.

  • Normal wear and aging

    Defects caused by normal wear and tear or normal aging are not covered.

  • Repairs by other shops

    Damage from service by anyone who is not Apple or an Apple Authorized Service Provider is not covered.

  • Add AppleCare+ or AppleCare One

    AppleCare+ fees for iPhone: $29 screen and back glass, $99 other accidental damage, $149 theft and loss.

  • How it gets fixed
    Apple chooses to repair, replace with the same model (or a similar one with your consent), or refund the purchase price.
    For mail-in service Apple sends prepaid waybills and pays shipping both ways if you follow its packing instructions.

Good to know

  • Good to know

    Returning the phone may not cancel your carrier account; you remain responsible for carrier fees.

  • IPhone Upgrade Program

    Returning the AppleCare+ part of an iPhone Upgrade Program purchase loses your upgrade option.

  • Activation Lock / Find My

    If the security features are on and cannot be turned off by the person returning it, Apple may refuse the return.

  • Opened software

    Opened software, software downloads and gift cards cannot be returned.

When to buy

On sale since Sep 18, and no new model is close. Buy it if you want it.

Last 30 daysNo change$1,299 since Oct 9
Stores we check1Apple
Price checks13 over 13 days
How we read this
  • We read store prices every day and keep every read. The price shown is the newest read from the retailer named.
  • A read older than 36 hours is never shown as the current price. It reads "last seen" and carries no buy link.
  • “30-day low” is the lowest of our own reads for this product in the last 30 days, not a retailer’s claim. We print the number of reads beside it, and we say nothing about a low until a product has a week of reads.
  • “Lowest known”, where it appears, is older price history from published reports and imports. It is shown only when it is lower than the 30-day low, and it is not counted as reads.
  • Our advice comes from the price, the price history and whether a newer model is coming. It never depends on who pays us.

Current offers

Apple
$1,299
—
Buy

We may earn a commission when you buy through these links.

What changed

Video playback battery lifeBattery
Up to 39 hours
Up to 45 hours
+6 hours
DisplayDisplay
Dynamic Island
Smaller Dynamic Island
Improved
Apple reference imageCamera
No
Yes, Apple Reference Image from the new Main camera sensor
Added
Showing the 3 biggest of 10 tracked differences.6 other specs are unchanged.
Available nowApple iPhone 17$899Guide News
Available nowApple iPhone Air (1st gen)$1099Guide News
Available nowGoogle Pixel 10a$599Guide News

Frequently asked questions

Questions about Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max

Sizing and fit

What sizes does it come in?
Aluminum unibody design, Ceramic Shield 2 front, Ceramic Shield back.

Price and models

When did the iPhone 18 Pro Max come out?
It went on sale September 18, 2026. Announced September 9, 2026.
Is there a newer one?
No. The iPhone 18 Pro Max is the current model.
How much does the iPhone 18 Pro Max cost?
List price: From $1,299. Current price we last read at Apple: $1299, October 21, 2026.
What colors does it come in?
Black, Silver, Glacier, Burgundy.

Returns and warranty

How long do I have to return it?
14-day returns The clock starts the day it arrives.
Is there a restocking fee?
Restocking fee: not stated by Apple
Who pays return shipping?
Who pays return shipping: not stated by Apple Start the return online and print a return label, then schedule a carrier pickup or drop it at the carrier. You can also return it at any U.S. Apple Store.
Can I return it if I opened or wore it?
Send it back like new Return it in its original condition with all included parts, accessories and packaging.
How do I get my money back?
How you get your money back Card refunds go to your bank within five business days after Apple receives the item. Returns may be inspected; approved refunds or exchanges are issued within 10 business days. Cash returns over $750 are paid by check within 10 business days.
How long is the warranty?
1-year warranty Starts the day you buy it.
Is there a paid protection plan?
Add AppleCare+ or AppleCare One AppleCare+ fees for iPhone: $29 screen and back glass, $99 other accidental damage, $149 theft and loss.
Is water damage covered?
Water damage not covered For iPhone and Apple Vision Pro the warranty names liquid contact as an excluded cause, and Apple's iPhone water page says liquid damage is not covered under warranty. The Apple Watch warranty's version of the same clause does not list liquid contact; see the Apple Watch overrides.
Is the battery covered?
Battery covered only for defects The standard warranty covers a battery only if it fails from a defect. The 80 percent rule belongs to AppleCare, not to the free warranty: AppleCare plans cover batteries that keep less than 80% of their original capacity.

Leaked images show the iPhone 18 in White, Pink and Dark Blue

Leaked images show the base iPhone 18 with a raised, Pro-style camera plateau and three colors: White, Pink and Dark Blue. It's still tipped for March 2027, so the iPhone 17 stays the standard iPhone to buy until spring.

Apple's iPhone Duo demo plan fills flagship stores with over 150 units

Bloomberg's Mark Gurman reports Apple is preparing an unusually large retail demo rollout for the iPhone Duo's October 23 launch: more than 150 units at the Fifth Avenue flagship, nearly 100 at Apple Park, 30 to 40 at other flagship stores, and about 20 at smaller ones. Some units sit untethered so shoppers can fold them by hand. Supply is still expected to stay tight at launch.

You have reached the end of this stream

Those are all the stories we have lined up here.

More news